## Chronology

ca. 2000 BCE	Harappa and Mohenjo-daro thrive as planned cities
	Discovery of iron, Vedism founded
	Mahabharata and Bhagavad Gita developed
	Muhammad ibn Qasim conquers Sind
	Mughal Empire reigns
Ť	English merchants form East India Company
	East India Company gains Bombay from Portugal
:	Battle of Plassey
1773-1790s	Britain gains more territory in India
1800s	English becomes the language of education in India
1857	The Indian Mutiny takes place
1858	Britain takes control of India from the East India Company
1871	First all-India census
1885	Hume founds Congress Party
1892	India Councils Act
1906	Muslim League founded
1907	Tilak calls on Indians to boycott British goods
1909	Morley-Minto Reforms passed
1914-1918	World War I
1916	Mohammad Ali Jinnah arranges Lucknow Conference
1917	British government announces eventual self-governance for India
1919	Amritsar massacre, Montagu-Chelmsford Report passed
1920-22	Gandhi leads Congress Party
1920	Jinnah resigns from the Congress Party
1931	Gandhi leads protest against the salt tax
1937	Congress party dominates elections
1939-1945	World War II
1942	British Government offers India eventual independence
1946	Muslim League regains seats in elections
March 1946	Cabinet Mission arrives in India
June 1946	Cabinet Mission leaves India
August 1947	Indian independence, Pakistan is formed
October 1947	India and Pakistan go to war over Kashmir
1965	India and Pakistan go to war over Kashmir
1971	India and Pakistan go to war over East Pakistan
1974	India tests nuclear device
:	Pakistan tests nuclear device
1999	India and Pakistan go to war over Kashmir