Harris County Board of Education

BOARD MEMBERS

Mr. Garnett E. Ray III, Chair Mr. Steve F. Goodnoe, Vice Chair Mr. Stephen Johnston Mrs. Bridgett Oliver Mr. Scott Greene Mr. Harry Proctor Dr. Monica Sparks 132 Barnes Mill Road Hamilton, Georgia 31811 (706) 628-4206 Fax (706) 628-5609

SUPERINTENDENT Dr. Justin M. Finney ASSISTANT SUPERINTENDENTS SUPPORT SERVICES Ms. Shelia Baker

> HUMAN RESOURCES Mrs. Stacey Carlisle

BUSINESS SERVICES/TECHNOLOGY Mr. Shawn Fisher

House Bill 251 Public School Choice Framework

Parent Annual Choice Notification Letter

June 16, 2025

RE: Public School Choice for 2025-2026

Dear Parent or Guardian:

As the parent or guardian of a student currently enrolled in our school district, we are posting this on our website to notify you that under a new state law, you may request to transfer your child to another public school in the Harris County School District for the upcoming 2025-2026 school year.

As a parent or guardian, you can request to have your child transferred to another public school within your school district of residence as long as the school district has determined that there is available classroom space at the school. Please keep in mind that if you choose to transfer your child to another school in the district, the law requires you to assume the costs and responsibilities related to the transportation of your child to and from the school as long as your child remains at that school. Please review page three (3) for Public School Choice Framework.

In order to process your request, you will need to submit the attached "Transfer Request Form". Requests for transfers will open on July 1, 2025 at 12:01 a.m. and close July 14, 2025 at 11:59 p.m.

Transfer requests will be reviewed and approved or denied on the basis of a lottery in the event a particular school has available space and the number of transfer requests does not exceed the remaining available capacity. Since it is possible you may not receive your first choice, you may indicate more than one choice on the enclosed "Transfer Request Form".

Board Policy is available for viewing at the following link: <u>https://simbli.eboardsolutions.com/ePolicy/policy.aspx?PC=JBCCA&Sch=4085&S=4085&C=J&RevNo=2.09&T</u> <u>=A&Z=P&St=ADOPTED&PG=6&SN=true</u>

If you have questions regarding this, please contact: Thalia Carey, HOPE Center Secretary, by email <u>carey-t@harris.k12.ga.us</u> or call 706-628-4206 x 2301.

Dr. Dave Dennie - Elementary Curriculum & Instruction Mr. Jonathan R. Smith - Technology Dr. Dee Miller – Transportation Mrs. Meghan Ceja – Finance

DIRECTORS

Dr. Donna Patterson - Secondary Curriculum & Instruction Mr. Phillip H. Johnson - Special Education Mr. Tag Croxton - Federal Programs Mr. Brad Johnson - School Nutrition