MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION FORT STOCKTON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

April 28, 2025 6:00 pm

President Flo Garcia called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm.

Secretary Ursula Sanchez established quorum with the following members present: Anastacio Dominguez, Flo Garcia, Jennifer Gonzales, Kay Griffith, Freddie Martinez, and Ursula Sanchez. Sandra Rivera was absent.

Flo announced that the meeting was duly called and that notice of the meeting was posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code.

Vice President Anastacio Dominguez led the pledges to the flags and Superintendent Dr. Gabriel Zamora gave the invocation.

OPEN FORUM AND PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no requests for open forum or public comment.

STAFF REPORTS

Each campus principal recognized the Students of the Month – Francisco Saucedo, Alamo; Genessa Corral, Apache; Riley Casillas, Intermediate; Elena Sanchez, Middle School; and Jasmin Hernandez, High School. Teachers of the Year – Becky Rojas, Alamo; Vivian Hickman, Apache; Bethany Rivers, Intermediate; Dwight Dodd, Middle School and Tara Sanchez, High School. "Distinguished" Order of Panther Induction: Coach Lilia Forst and Coach Jamie Vasquez, Dustee Dale, Sophia Garcia, Alexis Rodriguez, Karla Vasquez, Andrew Black, Rylan Jimenez, Daniel Perez, Arien Rojas.

Dr. Zamora read the Boards continuing hours.

Mr. Alvardo spoke about the Campus Monthly Update.

CONSENT AGENDA

Motion made by Jennifer Gonzales, seconded by Sandy Rivera, and carried unanimously to approve the consent agenda, including the minutes of the regular board meeting of March 24, 2025, and special board meetings of April 10th, 11th, 14th, 16th, 17th, and 22nd 2025, March check register, Budget Amendment, Pecos County 4H Organization and Adjust Faculty Agreement (Amendment), Donations, Adjust status for 4H and other approved entities, Depository Bank Extension

DISCUSSION AND INFORMATION

Henthorn representative Rhett Dawson, reviewed the Agriculture Science Barn construction project. Emailed Mr. Madrid giving him an update on the Ag Barn Construction. On schedule to complete on time.

BTC representative Jose Carrera reviewed the progress of the Field House and Intermediate construction project.

Centrix representative, ????, gave an update on the construction project. Waiting for school to be let out to start

Tumbleweed+ representativeTristian Barragan spoke about entering the TASB video contest.

Ms. Cheryl Hoover, consultant with TASB gave the Staffing review.

ACTION

Motion made by Jennifer Gonzales, seconded by Ursula Sanchez, and carried unanimously to approve the 10 year license quote from ADA Technologies.

Motion made by Ursula Sanchez, seconded by Freddy Martinez, and carried unanimously to approve the Student Bulk Supply Program at \$0 charge for the 2025-2026 school year.

Motion made by Kay Griffith, seconded by Sandy Rivera, and carried unanimously to approve the 1 year contract extensions or nonrenewals as for non-administrative staff as presented.

CLOSED SESSION

In accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act (Subchapters D and E of Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code), the board entered into a closed meeting to deliberate personnel (551.074), discuss and possibly negotiate with the athletic director candidate and consult with attorney (551.071) at 7:26pm

OPEN SESSION

The board reconvened in open session at 7:37pm

PERSONNEL

Employments:	
Rosa Pinedo	Custodian
Mandy Scott	Aide- Middle School
Ariana Ureste	Aide- Alamo
Resignations:	
David Barroffio	English Teacher- High School
Brayden Chase Brown	Social Studies Teacher- High School
Karen Caswell	Science Teacher- Intermediate
Abbigail Gonzalez	2nd Grade Teacher- Alamo
Jeremy Hickman	Athletic Director- High School
Christina Pinales	Cafeteria Staff- Food Service
Juan Antonio Vasquez	CTE Teacher- High School
Sinai Valdez Dominguez	English Teacher- High School
Kenneth Vogel	Principal- High School
Retirements:	
Driccillo Cococ	Compus Socratory Anacha

Priscilla Casas

Campus Secretary- Apache

The next regular meeting will be May 21, 2025

Meeting adjourned at 7:37 pm