

For Immediate Release

Contact: Linda Andreassi, Communications Director – (724) 452-6040, ext. 1612 or via email @ andreassill@svsd.net

<photos attached: Academic Games National Tournament participants.>

SENECA VALLEY STUDENTS SHINE AT ACADEMIC GAMES

JACKSON TOWNSHIP, PA (May 12, 2025) – Seneca Valley had 15 students from various grade levels compete against hundreds of other students from across the country in the Academic Games League of America (AGLOA) National Tournament, which took place in Washington, D.C., April 25-29.

There are four divisions in the Academic Games, made up of Elementary (grade 6), Middle (grades 7-8), Junior (grades 9-10) and Senior (grades 11-12). Students then compete in seven types of games: Equations, On-Sets, Linguishtik, Theme, Propaganda, Current Events and Presidents.

In the Elementary Division, Reed Schwartz was a third-place individual and seventh-place team member, Anaya Kandikuppa was a seventh-place individual, and Landon Donaldson and Ella Hauck were first-place team members in Current Events.

In the Middle Division, Brennan Kaye was a second-place team member in Current Events. In Linguishtik, Eli Kopchinsky, Brennan Kaye, Emily Browne and Jovan Kodic were sixth-place team members. In Propaganda, Emily Browne was a fifth-place individual, and Eli Kopchinsky, Brennan Kaye, Emily Browne and Breanna Zimmerman were eighth-place team members.

In the Senior Division, Eric Chen was a fifth-place individual in Propaganda. In Theme, Heath Lyon was a sixth-place individual, Kian Watt was a fourth-place team member and Arvand Esni was a fifth-place team member. In Presidents, Arvand Esni, Eli Lippert and Maddox Grupp were fourth-place team members. In Current Events, Arvand Esni was a fourth-place team member and Maddox Grupp was a tenth-place individual and first-place team member (National Champion).

Students who competed in the AGLOA National Tournament include Anaya Kandikuppa, Ella Hauck, Landon Donaldson, Reed Schwartz, Breanna Zimmerman, Brennan Kaye, Eli Lippert, Emily Browne, Jovan Kodic, Arvand Esni, Eli Kopchinsky, Eric Chen, Heath Lyon, Kian Watt and Maddox Grupp.