Renville County West School Board Meeting April 14, 2025

The April meeting of the Board of Education of ISD #2890, Renville County West, was called to order Monday, April 14, 2025 at 6:01 p.m. in the RCW district conference room by Chairman Dale Negen.

Members present: Andrea Bakker, Cory Hebrink, Michelle Erickson, Ben Ryan, Alyssa Bakker, Ryan Lippert and Dale Negen.

Member absent: None.

Others present: Eric Kronlokken, Barb Kronlokken, Jiana Robertsdahl, Kristin Paehlke, Londa Swenson, Maci Markfort, Mandy Kronlokken, Taylor Partington, Victoria Bagley, Ben Campos, Brad McLagen, Ross Okins, Tara Hinderks, Peyton Mills, Kris Egge and Supt. Brad Johnson.

Chairman Negen read the vision and mission statements.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion by Lippert, second by Ryan to approve the agenda as amended. Motion carried.

Supt. Johnson gave a legislative update.

The Board recognized Brittany Hebrink and Victoria Kramer as the chosen Difference Makers for the month of March. The Board also recognized the Sophomores inducted into the National Honor Society. They included: Vivia Hebrink, Maggie Rice, Ivy Thompson, Mackenna Hinderks, Kylee Mulder and Venna Veglahn.

The Finance Committee has begun negotiations with the EA. Both Meet and Confer and the Foundation met prior to the Board meeting.

Leadership reports were given by Principal Egge, Principal Mills and Supt. Brad Johnson.

No public comments.

Motion by Erickson, seconded by Andrea Bakker to approve the consent agenda. Supt. Johnson thanked Jeff Menken for his years of service.

- 1. Approve minutes from the March 10, 2025 meeting
- 2. Approve payment of bills

date	beginning check	ending check	total
4/14/2025	61350	61427	\$208,588.12
	ACH		\$223,534.19

3. Retirements:

- A. Jeff Menken Head Custodian
- B. Les Schneider Bus Driver

4. Resignations:

- A. Reese Marks Summer Recreation Coordinator
- B. Kennedy Tatge Paraprofessional
- C. Thomas Grosklags Junior High Golf Coach
- D. Jeremiah Kramer Physical Education/Health Instructor
- E. Jeremiah Kramer Jr. High Baseball Coach (after season)

5. Hires:

- A. Steve Agre Head Baseball Coach
- B. Randy Schaub Assistant Baseball Coach
- C. Jeremiah Kramer Jr. High Baseball Coach
- D. Richard Schrupp Head Golf Coach
- E. Michael Landquist Junior High Golf Coach
- F. Dean Ehlebracht Head Softball Coach
- G. Pam Winzenburg Assistant Softball Coach
- H. Rick Shackelford Head Track Coach
- I. Cindy Kvaal Assistant Track Coach
- J. Kristin Paehlke Summer Recreation Coordinator

6. Fundraisers:

A. Kiss a Senior Goodbye - Student Council

Motion carried.

Motion by Lippert, seconded by Ryan to approve the 2025 – 2026 school year calendar. Motion carried.

Motion by Erickson, seconded by Alyssa Bakker to approve the 2025 – 2026 SWWC Service Cooperative Agreement. Motion carried.

Motion by Lippert, seconded by Hebrink to approve the 2025 – 2026 Taher Food Service Agreement. Motion carried.

Motion by Negen, seconded by Alyssa Bakker to approve the purchase of an International bus from Hoglund Bus Company not to exceed \$147,115.58. Motion carried.

Motion by Lippert, seconded by Andrea Bakker to approve the Tri-Valley Head Start Agreement. Motion carried.

Motion by Lippert, seconded by Ryan to approve the FY25 revised budget with revenues of \$10,935,908 and expenditures of \$10,826,916. Motion carried.

Motion by Negen, seconded by Alyssa Bakker to approve the lease of a painting robot from Turf Tank for \$8,700 for the first year and \$7,000 a year to finish the three year lease. Motion carried.

Motion by Lippert, seconded by Hebrink to approve the non-renewal of Shelby Arnold. Roll call vote. Ryan: yes, Alyssa Bakker: yes, Cory Hebrink: yes, Erickson: yes, Andrea Bakker: yes, Lippert: yes, Negen: yes. Motion carried.

The Cell Phone Policy was discussed as a second reading with no changes presented.

No public comments.

The next meeting is April 28, 2025
Meeting adjourned at 7:01 pm.

Alyssa Bakker Clerk