

# **Agenda Request Form**

**Meeting Date** 

May 15, 2025

Agenda Item Number

Recognition Item 11

#### **Title**

Science Olympiad

## **Requested Action**

School Board Recognition of District Science Olympiad First-Place Team and State Science Olympiad First-Place Winners

#### Summary Explanation and Background

More than 500 Cherokee County School District students put their science skills to the test at the district's annual Science Olympiad, which gives students the opportunity to test their knowledge and skills in STEM challenges.

Congratulations to the district overall winning team, Ball Ground ES STEM Academy - Team 1! Team members are: Macey Bennett, Lux Coffman, Naomi Lynn Dobbs, Tati Davila-Reyes, Landon Gaydon, Scarlett Herring, Kaydence Huber, Graeme Hutchison, Levi Jones, Asher Lambert, Derek Lo, Harrison Miller, Sebastian Navarro, Owen Norris, Ariana Pinigina, Baylee Rae, Ridge Simpson, Addison Smith, Hollis Sobolewski, and Ella Sauser. The team is coached by teachers Crystal Bennett, Amanda Lo, and Crystal Simpson.

Ball Ground ES STEM Academy and five other CCSD teams (Avery ES, Bascomb ES, Carmel ES, Hickory Flat ES, and Holly Springs ES STEM Academy) advanced to the State Science Olympiad held earlier this month. Four students earned first-place state honors: Anika Renner and Gahan Relamuni of Avery ES for Egg Drop; and Charvik Sirivella and Shri Sanevelly of Hickory Flat ES for Data Crunchers.

Thank you to Cobb Electric Membership Corporation and Gas South for their sponsorship of CCSD's annual competition.

# **Financial Impact**

N/A

## **Exhibits: (List)**

N/A

## **Source of Additional Information**

Mary Elizabeth Davis, PhD	770.479.1871
Barbara Jacoby	770.479.1871
Josh Heath, Ed.D.	770.479.1871

Office of Superintendent June 5, 2024