

NEW ENGLAND ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES Commission on Public Schools

Director for Accreditation and School Improvement ALYSON M. GEARY 781-425-7736 | ageary@neasc.org

Associate Directors for Accreditation and School Improvement:

CARL R. JOHNSON 781-425-7718 cjohnson@neasc.org FRANCIS T. KENNEDY 781-425-7749 fkennedy@neasc.org

KATHLEEN A. MONTAGANO 781-425-7760 kmontagano@neasc.org BRUCE R. SIEVERS 781-425-7716 bsievers@neasc.org

April 29, 2025

Anthony R. Salutari, Jr. Principal Daniel Hand High School 286 Green Hill Road Madison, CT 06443

Dear Mr. Salutari:

The Commission on Public Schools, at its March 9-10, 2025, meeting, reviewed the Decennial Accreditation Report from the recent visit to Daniel Hand High School and voted to award the school continued Accreditation in the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.

The Commission was impressed with the progress made on the Priority Areas for Growth and increased alignment with the Principles of Effective Practice since the time of the Collaborative Conference Visit and wishes to commend the following:

- the 2024 National Blue Ribbon School distinction for overall academic excellence
- the caring, trusting, and respectful relationships between the board of education, administrators, teachers, students, and families
- the collaborative leadership team comprising building administrators and program coordinators
- the palpable sense of culture, climate, and collegiality that exists in the building
- the variety of courses and technology programming that provide authentic, realworld experiences and transferable skills
- the varied and rigorous instructional practices and learning activities
- the completed curriculum in all content areas that provides assured common experiences for students
- the autonomy afforded to educators to structure PLCs based on individual department needs
- the creativity and perseverance of the professional staff in supporting instruction, despite constraints imposed by the dining and assembly hall
- the embedded profile of a graduate capacities in curricula, performance-based assessments, and the culture of the school

The Commission was pleased to note that all applicable Foundational Elements in the Standards for Accreditation have been met by the school

Anthony R. Salutari, Jr. April 29, 2025 Page Two

The Commission requests a First Report of Progress and Planning by February 1, 2026. This report will inquire about the school's alignment with the Foundational Elements, ask the school to list exemplary practices, and request a copy of the school's revised School Growth/Improvement Plan based on the Next Steps provided by the visiting team for each of the Priority Areas for Growth.

The Commission congratulates the school administration and faculty for completing the first two phases of the Accreditation Process: the Self-Reflection and the Accreditation visit. The next step will be the Follow-Up Process, during which the school will continue to implement a School Growth/Improvement Plan, based on the school's Priority Areas aligned with the Standards for Accreditation, and report progress toward implementing those priorities. The Commission's Follow-Up Seminars should help you and your faculty develop a schedule for implementing your Growth/Improvement Plans. In addition, the Commission's website includes information on Follow-Up procedures.

The school's Accreditation status will be reviewed when the Commission considers the First Report of Progress and Planning. The principal should submit the school's First Report of Progress and Planning only through the Accreditation Portal by clicking on the green "Mark Progress Report Complete" button. Also, please notify the Commission office immediately of any changes in the names of the principal and/or superintendent, along with their corresponding e-mail addresses, by submitting this information electronically to cpss-air@neasc.org.

Sincerely,

Alyson M. Geary

Alyn M. Sun

Francis T. Kennedy, Jr.

Franci T. Kennely

AMG/FTK/mv

cc: Craig A. Cooke, Superintendent, Madison Public Schools Seth Klaskin, Chairperson, Madison Board of Education Heather O'Brien, Chair of the Visiting Team Amy Cetner, Chair, Commission on Public Schools