Renville County West School Board Meeting
January 13, 2025

The organizational meeting of the Board of Education of ISD #2890, Renville County West, was called to

order Monday, January 13, 2025 at 6:00 p.m. by Dale Negen in the District Board Room.

Members present: Ryan Lippert, Cory Hebrink, Alyssa Bakker, Michelle Erickson, Ben Ryan, Andrea Bakker

and Dale Negen.

Members absent: None.

Others present: Kelly Hagen, Casey Elfering, Londa Swenson, Maci Markfort, Meredith Lieser, Jiana

Robertsdahl, Jason Stewig, Ross Okins, Kris Egge, Peyton Mills, Tara Hinderks and Supt. Brad Johnson.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion by Lippert, seconded by Bakker to approve the agenda as amended. Motion carried.

The Oath of Office was read by Dale Negen and the new Board members were sworn in.

Organizational Items:

Nominations for Chair were called. Lippert nominated D. Negen. Nominations for Chair were called two more times. Negen ceased nominations after no more were heard. Negen declared it a unanimous

decision for Dale Negen to be the Chair.

Nominations for Vice Chair were called. Negen nominated Lippert. Cory Hebrink nominated Ben Ryan.

Nominations for Vice Chair were called two more times. Chairman Negen ceased nominations after no

more were heard. A roll call vote was held, and Ryan Lippert won the nomination for Vice Chair with a 5-

2 vote.

Nominations for Clerk were called. Hebrink nominated Alyssa Bakker for Clerk. Nominations for Clerk

were called two more times. Chairman Negen ceased nominations after no more were heard. Negen

declared it a unanimous decision for Alyssa Bakker to be the Clerk.

Nominations for Treasurer were called. Erickson nominated Ben Ryan for Treasurer. Nominations for

Treasurer were called two more times. Chairman Negen ceased nominations after no more were heard.

Negen declared it a unanimous decision for Ben Ryan to be the Treasurer.

Board Directors for 2025 will be Andrea Bakker, Michelle Erickson and Cory Hebrink.

The following committee appointments were made:

• Finance: Dale Negen, Ryan Lippert, Cory Hebrink

Policy/Meet & Confer: Michelle Erickson, Ben Ryan, Cory Hebrink

Curriculum/Community Ed Advisory: Andrea Bakker, Ben Ryan, Michelle Erickson

• Facilities/Health & Safety: Ryan Lippert, Ben Ryan, Alyssa Bakker

MVCC Representative: Andrea Bakker

• MSHSL Representative: Cory Hebrink

• Insurance Pool Representative: Dale Negen

MRVED Representative: Alyssa Bakker

• RCW Foundation: Cory Hebrink

Motion by Ryan Lippert, seconded by Andrea Bakker to name Squires & Waldspurger, & Mace, P.A. as official legal counsel. Motion carried.

Motion by Andrea Bakker, seconded by Ryan Lippert to make the Renville County Register the official newspaper. Motion carried.

Motion by Ryan Lippert, seconded by Cory Hebrink to name MSDLAF+, PMA-MN Trust, First Security State Bank, FM Bank and Greater Community Credit Union as the official depositories for the district. Motion carried.

Motion by Dale Negen, seconded by Alyssa Bakker to make the official meeting day/time/location the second Monday of each month at 6:00 pm in the District Board Room. The fourth Monday of each month will be used as a work session, for committee meetings or as an official meeting as needed. Motion carried.

Motion by Dale Negen, seconded by Ryan Lippert to increase the Board member per diem to \$2,100 for Board members, \$300 additional for the Chairman and \$300 additional for the Finance Committee members during Negotiation years. Motion carried.

Regular Meeting Items:

No public comments.

Supt. Johnson gave a brief legislative update.

The Board recognized Sean Biehn and Morgan Madsen as Difference Makers.

Nothing to report for Committee meetings.

Leadership reports were given by Peyton Mills, Kris Egge and Supt. Johnson.

Motion by Ryan Lippert, seconded by Michelle Erickson to approve the consent agenda as amended.

1. Approve payment of bills

date	beginning check	ending check	total
1/13/2025	61041	61159	\$460,453.42
	ACH		\$234,748.26

- 2. Approve minutes from the December 9, 2024 meeting
- 3. Resignations:
 - A. Janie Revier Paraprofessional
 - B. Amanda Lee K-12 Secretary
 - C. Laurie Hagen Social Worker
 - D. Dean Ehlebracht JH Softball Coach
- 4. Retirements:
 - A. Les Schneider Bus Driver
- 5. Hires:
- A. Brittany Hebrink Head Secretary
- B. Brittany Hebrink Communications (Stipend)
- C. Dean Ehlebracht Head Softball Coach
- D. Cory Hebrink Substitute Teacher
- 6. Authorization for Brad Johnson, Krista Schrupp and Tara Hinderks to make financial transactions on behalf of the district
- 7. Donations:

<u>Date</u>	<u>Amount</u>		<u>From</u>	<u>Purpose</u>
10/17/2024	\$	150.00	SH Lions	staff recognition shirts
	\$	100.00	SMBSC	staff recognition shirts
	\$	50.00	Community Electric	staff recognition shirts
	\$	150.00	Renville Lions	staff recognition shirts
	\$	59.28	Zigterman family	pool lessons
10/25/2024	\$	300.00	FM Bank	donation
11/11/2024	\$	561.00	Jim's Clothing	Football Activity account

	\$ 250.00	Steve's Heating & AC	Football fan bus
	\$ 250.00	First Security Bank	Football fan bus
	\$ 100.00	Citizen's Alliance Bank	Football fan bus
12/13/2024	\$ 8,578.95	RCW Booster Club	Hudl, sports equipment
12/20/2024	\$ 5.00	Arvig	Donation

Motion carried.

Nothing to report for Old Business.

Motion by Cory Hebrink, seconded by Alyssa Bakker to approve the PACT for Families Agreement. Motion carried.

Motion by Ryan Lippert, seconded by Michelle Erickson to approve the School Calendar change involving High School Conferences. Motion carried.

Nothing for Discussion.

No public comments.

The next meeting will be January 27th. It is yet to be determined if it will be a regular meeting or a work session.

The meeting adjourned at 7:11 pm.

Alyssa Bakker Clerk