

Agenda Request Form

Meeting Date
April 17, 2025

Agenda Item Number

Recognition Item 2

Title

CCSD Counselor of the Year and Innovation Zone Winners

Requested Action

School Board Recognition of CCSD Counselor of the Year and Innovation Zone Winners

Summary Explanation and Background

The 2025 CCSD Counselor of the Year is Mable Ferry from Hasty Elementary School Fine Arts Academy! The award process begins with each innovation zone selecting a counselor of the year. Applications from these honorees then are considered by a panel of retired educators and community leaders, who select the CCSD Counselor of the Year.

Known as the school's "heart and soul", due to her incredible devotion to supporting every student's learning and well-being, Ms. Ferry has been a constant guiding light since its opening, 20 years ago. A past Cherokee Zone Counselor of the Year winner, Ms. Ferry earned her bachelor's degree in psychology and master's in education degree in school counseling from Plattsburgh State University of New York prior to joining Hasty in 2005. Ms. Ferry, who is retiring at the end of the school year, now is eligible for the statewide Counselor of the Year competition.

In addition to Ms. Ferry for the Cherokee Innovation Zone, the other zone winners are: Creekview: Amanda Bridgewater of Ball Ground ES STEM Academy; Etowah: Dr. Teresa Neal of E.T. Booth MS; River Ridge: Leontta Warren of Mill Creek MS; Sequoyah: Wendy Fort of Sequoyah HS; and Woodstock: Christine Wernquist of Woodstock HS.

Financial Impact

N/A

Exhibits: (List)

N/A

Source of Additional Information

Mary Elizabeth Davis, PhD	770.479.1871
Barbara Jacoby	770.479.1871
Debra Murdock, Ed.D.	770.479.1871

Office of Superintendent June 5, 2024