2024-2025 TEACHER OF HE YEAR



A STUART



Proudly Serving 28.860+ STUDENTS

41 SCHOOLS AND CENTERS

20 ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS

4 ELEMENTARY MAGNET CENTERS

1 CHILD DEVELOPMENT CENTER

7 MIDDLE SCHOOLS

5 HIGH SCHOOLS

I VIRTUAL SCHOOL PROGRAM

1 ADULT EDUCATION CENTER

1 STUDENT INNOVATION CENTER

1 ALTERNATIVE SCHOOL

5TH LARGEST SCHOOL DISTRICT IN THE STATE



RICHLAND TWO BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND SUPERINTENDENT



The Honorable Joe Trapp, The Honorable Tamika Washington, The Honorable Niki Porter, Vice Chairwoman; The Honorable Dr. Monica Elkins-Scott, Chairwoman; Dr. Kim D. Moore, Superintendent; The Honorable Angela Nash, The Honorable Gary Dennis, and The Honorable Shelley Williams

District Snapshot

General Fund Budget

\$386,781,950

Military-Connected Students

3,603 or 12.5 percent

Languages

56 Languages other than English (Top Four: English, Spanish, Vietnamese, Chinese Mandarin)

Pupils in Poverty

18,200 or 63.06 percent

Ethnicities

62.6 African-American

14.6 White

13.3 Latino/Hispanic

6.8 Additional Races/

Ethnicities

2.6 Asian

Graduation Rate

86.7 percent

Staff Population

2407 Certified

1585 Support (Classified)

196 Professional

MISSION

In partnership with our community, we empower students to discover their potential and prepare for a successful future.

VISION

Richland Two is a dynamic school district committed to creating an environment where students feel connected, engaged and supported so that they can experience academic and personal achievement.





Teresa Mingo, principal of Longleaf Middle School, is the 2025 Middle Level Principal of the Year and **Matt Sherman, principal of Blythewood High School,** is the 2025 Secondary Principal of the Year. This recognition marks the third consecutive year Richland Two has been home to a State Principal of the Year.

Kirstin Bullington, Next Energy Engineering Instructor, Student Innovation Center @ R2i2 has won the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching in the Science category. This prestigious award represents the highest recognition available to K-12 mathematics and science teachers in the United States. The award includes a \$10,000 grant.



MILKEN EDUCATOR AWARD WINNER KEIGHLEY GEORGE, LEAD INTERVENTIONIST FOREST LAKE ELEMENTARY NASA EXPLORER SCHOOL



A surprise of a lifetime came recently to one extraordinary teacher at Forest Lake Elementary NASA Explorer School. Keighley George, the lead interventionist, became a Milken Family Foundation Award Winner and received a \$25,000 unrestricted cash prize during a school assembly. This prestigious



award is often referred to as the "Oscar of Teaching." George is the sole South Carolina recipient for the 2024-2025 academic year. She is adept at creatively tailoring her educational approach to students at every stage of learning, ensuring that they are confident in their abilities and achieve academic growth. This award comes with lifelong benefits including mentorship opportunities.

It has been 17 years since a Richland Two educator has won this award. Previous Richland Two Milken Educator Award winners include: David Foster, Lonnie B. Nelson Elementary School (1994); Clavis Anderson, Joseph Keels Elementary School (1998); Malinda D. Taylor, E. L. Wright Middle School (2001); and Heather M. Bass, Lake Carolina Elementary School (2008).

Student Highlights

Emna Guedhami, Spring Valley High School, is among the top 300 scholars in the Regeneron Science Talent Search 2025, one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious science and math competitions for high school seniors.

Class of 2024 seniors earned more than \$171,694,479 in college scholarships. There were two National Merit Scholarship winners and three National Merit Scholarship Corporation winners.

2 Perfect scores on SC Ready English

44 Perfect scores on SC Ready Math

31 Students scored 5 on the AP Research Exam (highest score)

Lillian Mirosavich, Richland Northeast HS is the 2025 SC Scholastic Journalist of the Year. She is in the Convergence Media Magnet Program.

Aaron Good, Richland
Northeast HS received 1st
place Fiction award for the
Literary Magazine from the
South Carolina Scholastic Press
Association.

JROTC programs at each Richland Two high school have a 100 percent graduation rate and the Navy ROTC at Richland Northeast ranks number one in South Carolina.



WINNERS WILL BE ANNOUNCED IN APRIL AND MAY





2025 BLYTHEWOOD HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS BASKETBALL STATE CHAMPIONS



2025 RIDGE VIEW HIGH SCHOOL BOYS BASKETBALL STATE CHAMPIONS
This is the second year in a row Ridge View has won the state championship and
the sixth time since 2018.

District Highlights

Center for Knowledge and Center for Knowledge North named Palmetto's Finest Finalists (winner to be announced in April 2025).

Joseph Keels Elementary School won the National Youth Advocacy and Resilience High Flying Schools Award and was named a National Beta School of Merit.

Polo Road Elementary School named National Beta School of Merit three years in a row.

Summit Parkway Middle School received the Schools to Watch designation by the National Forum to Accelerate Middle Grades Reform and is the state winner of the 15th annual Samsung Solve for Tomorrow competition—an achievement that comes with a \$12,000 Samsung technology prize package.

Dent Middle School won the district's Quiz Whiz Middle School Academic Tournament two years in a row.

Richland Northeast High School counseling named a Recognized American School Counselor Association Model Program.

17 schools were recognized by Magnet Schools of America for earning 11 National Merit Schools of Excellence awards and six Merit Schools of Distinction honors.

The National Alliance for Black School Educators selected **The Honorable Dr. Monica Elkins-Scott** as its 2024 School Board Member of the Year.

Dr. Kedralyn Folk, District Office and **Brandon Reeder, Blythewood Middle** were recognized in the Emerging Leaders Class of 2024 by South Carolina ASCD.

Kyanna Samuel, Jackson Creek Elementary is the 2024 recipient of the Social Justice Award given by the Early Childhood Education Assembly of the National Council of Teachers of English.





Ewan Dalrymple, Westwood HS won the 100 butterfly and was second in the 500 freestyle. He is the first individual state champion in WHS program history.



Will Wilson, Richland Northeast HS received the South Carolina Mr. Football award and Richland County Player of the Year award.



Chase Staten, Muller Road Middle won the AAU Indoor Track and Field National Championship in the 60m and 200m.

2024-2025 Teachers of the Year

Christine Corbett, Bethel-Hanberry Elementary Lauren Easterling, Blythewood Middle *Julie Russell, Blythewood High *Yoko Wiley, Bookman Road Elementary Michaela McDowell, Catawba Trail Elementary Craig China, Dent Middle Efthimia Holden, E. L. Wright Middle Laneisha Moskowitz, Forest Lake Elementary Cody Jones, Jackson Creek Elementary William Clark, Joseph Keels Elementary Roberto Lopez, Kelly Mill Middle Summer Queen, Killian Elementary Kassi Tarlton, Lake Carolina - Lower Monica Moses, Lake Carolina - Upper Brittany Clark, Langford Elementary *Dr. Nicola Smiling, Longleaf Middle Mikayla Walker, Lonnie B. Nelson Elementary Cherie Murray, L. W. Conder Elementary Jaala Edmonson, Muller Road Middle LaKathy Baker, North Springs Elementary Tiffany Marshall, Polo Road Elementary Anna Parrish, Pontiac Elementary Nicole Simon, Rice Creek Elementary Antoinetta Rogers, Richland Northeast High Keely Hitchings, Ridge View High *Hannah Cummings, Round Top Elementary Ragin Johnson, Sandlapper Elementary **Rona Stuart, Spring Valley High Erica McCord, Summit Parkway Middle Nikki Hudson, Westwood High Lakisha Williams, Windsor Elementary

* Honor Roll Teachers/**District Teacher of the Year