INDIAN RIVER SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING THURSDAY, JANUARY 16, 2025 EARLY LEARNING CENTER CAFETERIA

Call to Order

President Mrs. Leolga T. Wright called the Board Meeting of the Indian River School District Board of Education to order at 4:02 p.m.

Roll Call

Board Members present: Mr. Derek Cathell, Mrs. Lisa Hudson Briggs, Mrs. Kelly Kline, Mr. Gerald Peden, Mrs. Connie Pryor, Mr. Mark Steele, Mrs. Kim Taylor, Mrs. Anita West-Werner, Mrs. Leolga Wright. Board Members Late (4:15): Mr. Ivan Neal

Approval of Agenda – January 16, 2025

Mrs. Taylor, seconded by Mr. Peden, motioned to approve the agenda for January 16, 2025. The motion passed unanimously (9-0).

Executive Session

Mr. Cathell, seconded by Mr. Steele, motioned the start of executive session at 4:02 p.m. to discuss Personnel. The motion passed unanimously (9-0).

Mrs. West-Werner left executive session at 6:55 p.m.

Reconvene Regular Session at 7:21 p.m.

Roll Call

Board Members present: Mrs. Lisa Briggs, Mr. Derek Cathell, Mrs. Kelly Kline, Mr. Ivan Neal, Mr. Gerald Peden, Mrs. Connie Pryor, Mr. Mark Steele, Mrs. Kim Taylor, Mrs. Leolga Wright.
Board Member Absent: Mrs. Anita West Werner.

Public Comments

No comments.

New Business

Discussion and action in furtherance of a referendum

Mrs. Smith discussed the need for Indian River School District to move forward with a referendum. She shared with the board a slide presentation highlighting the current expense referendum (referendum cycles, authorized local tax rates, match taxes, school district match tax comparisons, estimated tax collections, FY 2025 current expense rate comparison, county property re-assessment, debt service reductions, dates for referendum, recruitment and retention of staff, increased operating costs, critical line items).

Mr. Steele, seconded by Mrs. Briggs, motioned to approve the referendum date of March 20, 2025 with an inclement weather make-up date of March 27, 2025. The special election shall seek authority to levy additional taxes to fund current operating expenses by \$1.2105 per \$100 of assessed value effective July 1, 2025.

The motion passed (8-1-0). For the motion: Mrs. Briggs, Mr. Cathell, Mrs. Kline, Mr. Neal, Mr. Peden, Mrs. Pryor, Mr. Steele, Mrs. Taylor, Mrs. Wright. Against the motion: Mr. Peden.

Public Comments

No comments.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Mr. Cathell, seconded by Mr. Neal, motioned to adjourn the board meeting at 7:49 p.m. The motion passed unanimously (9-0).

Respectfully Submitted,

Jay F. Owens, Ed.D Secretary Indian River School District Board of Education

LTW/JFO:jmt

Leolga T. Wright President Indian River School District Board of Education