

Board of Education UPDATE Newsletter JANUARY 2025



This Board of Education Update is provided for AAPS students, parents, staff, and community to share a summary of the ongoing work of the Board of Education.

- The public is welcome to attend all open meetings of the Board of Education. A calendar of board meetings can be accessed <u>here</u>. Regular Meetings, Study Sessions and Retreats are typically held at the Earhart Administration Building, <u>3700 Earhart Road</u>, <u>Ann Arbor</u>, <u>MI 48105</u>. Committee meetings (membership of three or fewer trustees) are held via Zoom.
- Meeting agendas, minutes and policies can be accessed in <u>BoardDocs</u>. Links are provided to access the agenda items in BoardDocs.
- Meetings can be viewed live through Zoom for Regular Meetings, Study Sessions and Committee Meetings (see <u>Board Calendar</u> for the Zoom link)
- Video recordings of Regular Meetings and Study Sessions are available through <u>CTN</u>. Committee meetings are not video recorded.
- The community is welcome to share public commentary. Those who wish to comment must sign up at least 4 hours in advance of the start of any open meeting through this <u>link</u>. The board can be emailed any time at <u>boardofed@a2schools.org</u>.
- Past editions of the BOE Update can be found on the **Board website**.

ANN ARBOR PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Board of Education UPDATE JANUARY 2025



JANUARY 25, 2025 - BOARD RETREAT EARHART ADMINISTRATION BUILDING, 3700 EARHART RD., ANN ARBOR

This meeting is not audio or video recorded.

PUBLIC COMMENTARY

- 1. Daniel Konson
- 2. Peter Andruskiewicz
- 3. Naeole Nathaniel
- Malissa Edwards
 Sarah Thompson
 Gina Schneider
- 7. Monica Emily Terrell
- 8. James Freeland
- 9. Ali Hassani
- 10. Lia Rose
- 11. Alexandra Raylor12. Andrew Vane
- 13. Praveena Ramaswami
- 14. Sarah Devereaux
- 15. Aryeh Raucher

RETREAT ITEMS

Michigan Association of Schools Boards: Board Self-Assessment, facilitated by Deborah Macon, MBA, MASB Consultant.

Board of Education UPDATE JANUARY 2025



JANUARY 29, 2025 - ORGANIZATIONAL/REGULAR MEETING EARHART ADMINISTRATION BUILDING, 3700 EARHART RD., ANN ARBOR

ALSO MADE AVAILABLE LIVE ON ZOOM

This meeting may be viewed in its entirety through CTN Video

PUBLIC COMMENTARY

1	Maria Princen	45	Jeff Gaynor	89	Emma Gallo-Chasanoff
2	Katie Sims	46	Kristen Scherbarth	90	Barbara Ladewski
3	Vincent Chen	47	Andrew Vane	91	Fiona Freeland
4	Sara Schreiber	48	Krista Barry	92	Kelly Sager
5	Cynthia Ransley	49	Jared Lyle	93	Jason Bonilla
6	Stefan Arambasich	50	Mary Mullaney	94	Abby Alwin
7	Esther Patrick	51	Ali Hassani	95	Tracy Mathewson
8	Daniel Arini	52	Adela Baker	96	lessica Bell
9	Denise Tanguay	53	Melissa Villanueva	97	Gabe Rettaliata
10	Penelope Moskus	54	Chelsea Froning	98	Monica West-Iones
11	Ben Higdon	55	Caroline Gross	99	Sarah Anton
12	Karleigh Marable	56	Robyn Anspach	100	Nathan Smead
13	Jeremy Bricker	57	Alice Sanderson	101	Jeff Kass
14	Marcy Hires	58	Justin Joque	102	Robert Patrick Kelly
15	Estelle Chiari	59	Emma Smith	103	Matt Johnson
16	Amy Uphues	60	Chris Ernt	104	Gabrielle Steiner
17	Kate Curry	61	Virginia Morgan	105	Lindzy Marotta
18	Kristine Taveggia	62	Jamie Lawler	106	Andrea Huang
19	David Hutchinson	63	Keri Calkins	107	Elinor Freeland
20	Sophia Zhou	64	Michael Oswalt	108	Thomas Woods
21	Stacy Ebron	65	Elizabeth McBreaty	109	Margaret Weiss
22	Sarah Devereaux	66	Nathan Remsberg	110	Hannah Smith
23	Lia Rose	67	Ionathan Flowers	111	Phillip Szepietowski
24	Sarah Thompson	68	Susannah Keller	112	Michael Cianfrocco
25	Catherine Riseng	69	Noah Hurwitz	113	Iim Vallem
26	Hannah Fox	70	praveena ramaswami	114	Allison Carey
27	Nancy Melzer	71	Abigail Flowers	115	Sarah Kempke
28	Anne Cox	72	Taylor Morgan	116	Laura Ganzel
29	Sarah Glinka	73	Smita Malpani	117	Peter Andruskiewicz
30	Siri Ibarguen	74	Luke Bunnell	118	Paul Devereaux
31	Anita Goldstein	75	Leela Ramaswami	119	Pelham Barron
32	Peri Stone-Palmquist	76	Gina Schneider	120	Jane Cottey
33	Cedric Herman	77	Sofia Gaudioso	121	Chavi Keeney Nana
34	Bruce Fulton	78	Sandra Bouma	122	Kimberly Carey
35	Nicole Scott	79	Katie Richter	123	Gillian Gzym
36	Diana Dyer	80	James Freeland	124	Nathaniel Steiner
37	Catherine Archibald	81	Camille Kempke	125	Michael Benham
38	Adam Linkner	82	Katherine Vane	126	Matthew Bertrand
39	Corinne Purman	83	Jonathan Gabison	127	Iordan Else
40	Andrea Fulton	84	Megan Maddock	128	Mike Nix
41	Nicole Afton	85	Allison Jeter	129	Beth Pearson
42	Elizabeth Morehead	86	Rachel Wagner	130	Allison Riccardi
43	Becky Kato	87	Luis Lavieri	131	Tricia Guest
44	Donna Gatzke	88	Stacey Greene	132	Alexandra Taylor
			-,	-	

ANN ARBOR PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Board of Education UPDATE JANUARY 2025



133	Tracy Briggs	148	Jillian Morgan	163	Lisa Henn
134	James Bruce Fields	149	Benjamin Badalamente	164	Emily Terrell
135	Jason Frenzel	150	Amy Griffis	165	Adar Steinberg
136	kathleen barrie	151	Tiffany Walther	166	Michael Zielinski
137	Deborah Wood	152	Maro Beauchamp	167	Kathy Ann Moilanen
138	Stephen Guest	153	Nora Berry	168	Bridgit Cook
139	Erich Zechar	154	Amanda Ryan	169	Najda Robinson-Mayer
140	Birgit Rieck	155	Shunahsii Rose	170	Jen Duman
141	Malissa Edwards	156	Kristen Ochomogo	171	Deshawn Madha
142	Jennifer Gleason	157	Robert Goodspeed	172	Leslie Smith
143	Michelle Karr	158	Amanda Shutko	173	Paola Walker
144	Xinge Yu	159	Robert Terrell	174	Carrie Rheingans
145	alex schmidt	160	Malcolm Morgan		
146	Don Packard	161	Sara Saylor		
147	Devon Murphy	162	Libby Benton		

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING ITEMS

Election of Officers

- Trustee Torchio Feaster was elected President
- Trustee Susan Schmidt was elected Vice President
- Trustee Glynda Wilks was elected Secretary
- Trustee Don Wilkerson was elected Treasurer
- Trustee Leslie Wilkins was appointed Parliamentarian by President Feaster

Board Standing Committees and Administrative Committee Assignments

Trustees were asked to submit their interest, which will be reviewed by President Feaster and announced at the February 12, 2025, Board Meeting.

Board Designated Representative Organizations

President Feaster will review and announce at the February 12, 2025, Board Meeting.

INFORMATION ITEMS

- 1. <u>Board Member Recognition Month</u>: Superintendent Parks recognized school board trustees.
- 2. Assistant Superintendent Linden and her English Language Arts (ELA) team presented an update on the <u>Elementary ELA curriculum pilot</u>.
- 3. Thurston staging and construction timelines were presented by the Capital program team.

ANN ARBOR PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Board of Education UPDATE JANUARY 2025



BOARD BRIEFING

- 1. The Capital Program Team presented Annex AN-2189 <u>Scarlett Middle and Community High Schools: Flooring and Painting Trade Contracts Part I</u>
- 2. The Capital Program Team presented Annex AN-2190 <u>New Mitchell Elementary: Trade Contract Recommendations Part 3</u>
- 3. The Capital Program Team presented Annex AN-2191 Huron High School: Pool Scoreboard
- 4. The Capital Program Team presented Annex AN-2192 <u>Slauson Middle Schools: Pool Demolition</u>

BOARD ACTION

- 1. Adopted Recommended Changes to Policy 3210-General Fund Balance.
- 2. Approved AAAA Tentative Agreement
- 3. Approved AFSCME-TSP Tentative Agreement
- 4. Approved AAEA Tentative Agreement
- 5. Approved a closed session for the purpose of negotiations and attorney/client privilege on February 12, 2025, at 6:00 PM, 3700 Earhart Road Building.