Policy: AA Page 1 of 1

SCHOOL DISTRICT LEGAL STATUS

The State of Missouri must establish and maintain free public schools in accordance with the Missouri Constitution and state law. The State has delegated certain responsibilities to local school districts. This district is governed by a seven-director school board. Directors are elected or appointed in accordance with law.

The official name of the school district is Special School District of St. Louis County, Missouri. In this policy and throughout the policy manual, it is referred to as the district or SSD. The Board of Education (BOE) of SSD keeps a common seal with which it may attest official acts of the district, in accordance with state law.

Governance of the district is vested in a 22-member Governing Council and a 7-member BOE. The Governing Council elects the BOE and annually approves both the district budget and the rolling five-year plan. The BOE is responsible for the management and operation of the district. In this policy and throughout the policy manual, the BOE is referred to as the board.

The district serves students who reside within 22 school districts located in St. Louis County, Missouri and a portion of Jefferson County served by Rockwood School District, in their local district or a SSD School, Technical High School or Purchase of Service provider. In addition, the district serves students who reside in St. Louis City and attend school in one of these 22 districts under the Voluntary Transfer Program.

Date Adopted: March 14, 1995

Date Revised: July 13, 1999

September 24, 2002 December 8, 2009 January 26, 2016

Cross Refs.: BBA – School Board Powers and Duties

BBB – School Board Elections

BBBA – Board Member Qualifications

BBE – Filling Board Vacancy

Legal Refs.: Mo. Const., Art. IX, §1(a).

§162.261, .311, .459 RSMo.