SHELTER ISLAND UFSD BOARD OF EDUCATION

ANNUAL DISTRICT MEETING AND ELECTION May 21, 2024

The Annual District Meeting and Budget Vote for the Shelter Island Union Free School District, Town of Shelter Island, County of Suffolk, State of New York was held at the school in said district on May 21, 2024.

At 12:00 pm, prevailing time, Tuesday, May 21, 2024, the Annual District Meeting and Election of the Shelter Island Union Free School District, Town of Shelter Island, County of Suffolk, State of New York, was called to order by the Board of Education President, Kathleen Lynch.

President Lynch administered the Constitutional Oath of Office to the Deputy District Clerk, Inspectors of Election and Poll Clerks: Deborah Vecchio, Angela Corbett, Shirley Ferrer, Barbara Brigham, Annmarie Rampmaier, Susanne Kane and Jose Frausto.

The polls were declared officially opened at 12:00 pm, prevailing time and announced that they would remain open until 9:00 pm, prevailing time, for the purpose of voting by ballot for the Proposed Annual District Budget as presented for the fiscal year 2024-2025, and to elect two (2) members of the Board of Education for three-year terms commencing on July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2027.

<u>Proposition 1</u>: Shall the Shelter Island Union Free School District Budget in the amount of \$13,099,796 for the fiscal year 2024-2025 be approved as proposed and the requisite portion thereof raised by taxation on the taxable property of the district?

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

At 9:00 pm, prevailing time, after ascertaining that everyone in the building at that time had voted, Deborah Vecchio, announced the results to Kathleen Lynch, Margaret Colligan, Tracy McCarthy, Dawn Hedberg, Katherine Rossi-Snook, Anthony J. Rando, Brian Doelger, Jennifer Rylott, Todd Gulluscio, Michael Dunning, Jeremy Stanzione, Brian Springer, Jacqueline Dunning, Kevin Dunning, Jose Montalvo, and Julie Lane – Shelter Island Reporter.

A total of 224 votes were cast.

The votes cast for <u>Proposition 1</u> - Proposed Annual District Budget for the Fiscal Year 2024-2025:

Yes 179 No 45 Total 224

Deborah Vecchio declared the Budget for the 2024-2025 Fiscal Year passed.

*** *** *** *** *** *** ***

The votes cast for Members of the Board of Education:

Margaret Colligan - 191

Karina Montalvo - 196

There was write-in vote(s) cast for Member of the Board of Education as follows:

Kyle Burns (1)
Nell Lowell (3)
Donna Clark (1)
Donald Trump (1)
Mike Williams (1)

Nurse Mary (1)
Frank Emmett (1)

Deborah Vecchio declared Margaret Colligan and Karina Montalvo duly elected for the term of July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2027.

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

A motion was made by Tracy McCarthy, seconded by Katherine Rossi-Snook, BE IT RESOLVED THAT: The Board of Education hereby accepts the results of the Annual Meeting of May 21, 2024, as read by the Deputy District Clerk.

Motion carried unanimously.

President Lynch discharged the Inspectors of Election and Poll Clerks.

The Members of the Board of Registration and Inspectors of Election are appointed until the thirtieth day following this Annual District Meeting and Election.

Adjournment

A motion was made by Tracy McCarthy, seconded by Margaret Colligan, that the Annual District Meeting and Election is hereby adjourned at 9:14 pm prevailing time.

Motion carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 9:14 pm.

Deborah Vecchio
Deputy District Clerk

The next meeting of the Board of Education of the Shelter Island Union Free School District is Monday, June 10, 2024 at 6:00 pm, in the Conference Room.