MINUTES OF A **SPECIAL MEETING** OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION, THORNTON TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 205, COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS, HELD ON **THURSDAY, MAY 3, 2018** IN THE AUDITORIUM AT THORNTON TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL, 15001 BROADWAY AVENUE, HARVEY, ILLINOIS, BEGINNING AT 6:00 P.M.

ANNOUNCEMENT

BY BOARD

PUBLIC

PARTICIPATION

EXECUTIVE

SESSION

ACTION

CONCERNING

REASSIGNMENT OF

ADMINISTRATOR

PRESIDENT

The meeting was called to order at 6:03 p.m. President Graham made the following announcement: Any person may record or broadcast an open Board meeting. Special request to facilitate recordings or broadcast an open Board meeting should be directed to the Superintendent at least 24 hours before the meeting. Recording meetings shall not distract or disturb Board members or participants. Please know if you participate in public participation, you are part of the Board meeting and may be taped.

On roll call, Members Banks, Butler, Cruz, Graham, Lawrence, Moody and Whittington ROLL answered. Dr. Leotis D. Swopes, Superintendent, Dr. Jerry B. Doss, Assistant CALL Superintendent and Mr. James Petrungaro, legal counsel, were also present.

The following individuals spoke during Public Participation:

• Felita Crayton (Dolton): stated that as a community liaison, she supports the administrator referred to in tonight's agenda.

At 6:07 p.m., Mr. Butler moved, Mr. Banks seconded, to go into **Executive Session** pursuant to Section 2(c) of the Open Meetings Act to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees. On roll call, Members Banks, Butler, Cruz, Graham, Lawrence, Moody and Whittington voted aye; nay, none; motion passed.

At 10:42 p.m., Mrs. Lawrence moved, Mrs. Moody seconded to **Reconvene Regular** RECONVENE **Session.** On roll call, Members Banks, Butler, Cruz, Graham, Lawrence, Moody and REGULAR SESSION Whittington voted aye; nay, none; motion passed.

Mrs. Lawrence moved, Mrs. Moody seconded, to **Approve the Resolution for the Reassignment of Dennis Willis from the position of Principal to a position of similar rank with no reduction in compensation effective July 1, 2018.** On roll call, Members Banks, Butler, Cruz, Graham, Lawrence, Moody and Whittington voted aye; nay, none; motion passed.

At 10:44 p.m., Mrs. Moody moved, Mr. Banks seconded, to **Adjourn the Meeting**. On roll ADJOURNMENT call, Members Banks, Butler, Cruz, Graham, Lawrence, Moody and Whittington voted aye; nay, none; motion passed.

President

Secretary

rp(brd.mins special 5-3-18) REGULAR SESSION