CATASAUQUA AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

Board of School Directors Annual Reorganization Meeting Minutes Tuesday, December 5, 2023 – 7:00 p.m.

1.	Call to order by the Vice President for the purpose of reorganization				
2.	Election of Temporary President by holdover board members				
RO	LL CALL VOTE				
NA	E: Emert, Cooper, Bashaw, Cieslak Y: 0 ur Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried				
3.	3. Certificate of Election and Oath of OfficeStacey Zellner, Notary				
	OATH OF OFFICE				
	Jillian Emert				
	Lauren Cieslak				
	Eric DeLabar				
	Jeremy Smale				
	TBD				
	I,				
* A	t this point, Eric DeLabar and Jeremy Smale joined the board meeting				

4. Roll Call

Board Members		Non-Board Members	
Dale Hein-President	X	Dave Knerr	X
Jillian Emert-Vice President	X	Christina Lutz-Doemling	X
Jason Bashaw-Secretary	X	Lindsey Wallace	X
Christy Cooper - Treasurer	X	Kathleen Kotran	
Lauren Cieslak	X	Paul Reilly	X
Eric DeLabar	X	Eric Dauberman	X
Shawn McGinley		Melissa Inselmann	X
Jeremy Smale	X	David Todd	X
Vacant		Robert Kucharczuk	X
Student Representatives		Thomas Moll	
Delaney Troxell		Carey Pammer	X
Sophia Becker		Other	
Augustus Serrano (Alternate)		Other	

X = Present

Visitors: See list inserted in Permanent Minute Book

* At this point Dale Hein announced to accept the letter presented by Kimberly Brubaker declining the seat on the Catasauqua Area School Board by election.

MOTION BY: Emert SECONDED BY: Bashaw

AYE: Emert, Bashaw, Cooper, Cieslak, DeLabar, Smale, Hein

NAY: 0

Seven Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried

5. Call for Nominations for President -- one-year term.

Nominations:

Nominations: Dale Hein, on nomination by Emert

Nominations closed: Ballot for President **Dale Hein**

ROLL CALL VOTE

Voting for Dale Hein

AYE: Emert, Cooper, Smale, DeLabar, Cieslak, Bashaw

NAY: 0

Abstention by Hein

Six Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried

* At this point Dale Hein submits his resignation from the elected position as Assistant School Board Secretary, Catasauqua Area School District effective December 5, 2023.

MOTION BY: Emert SECONDED BY: Cieslak

Seven Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried

6. President assumes chair and calls for Nominations for Vice-President -- one-year term.

Nominations:

Nominations: *Jillian Emert, on nomination by Cooper*

Nominations closed: Ballot for Vice President Jillian Emert

ROLL CALL VOTE

Voting for Jillian Emert

AYE: Smale, Hein, Cooper, Cieslak, DeLabar, Bashaw

NAY: 0

Abstention by Emert

Six Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried

7. Approval of Times and Places of School Board Meetings

Request approval of the schedule of meetings for the calendar year 2024 (January 2024 to December 2024) as set forth in the schedule.

MOTION BY: Emert SECONDED BY: Cieslak

Seven Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried

8. Approval of Dates and Times for Committee Meetings

Request approval of Committee meeting schedule for the calendar year 2024 (January 2024 to December 2024) as set forth in the schedule.

MOTION BY: <u>Cieslak</u> SECONDED BY: <u>Cooper</u>

Seven Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried

9. Appointment of Solicitor

Appoint Attorney David G. Knerr, as Solicitor for the Catasauqua Area School District for a one year period at the rate of \$240/hour (January 2024 to December 2024).

ROLL CALL VOTE

MOTION BY: Emert SECONDED BY: Bashaw

AYE: Cieslak, Emert, Hein, Cooper, Smale, DeLabar, Bashaw

NAY: 0

Seven Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried

^{*} At this time Dale Hein made a motion to change the times for the August Committee Meetings back to be consistent with all other Committee Meeting times, starting at 5:00-6:00-7:00 pm as opposed to starting at them at 4:00-5:00-6:00 pm in August. All were in favor of this change.

10. Appointment of PSBA Liaison

The PSBA Liaison for the Pennsylvania School Boards Association, representing the Catasauqua Area School District, may be appointed at this meeting.

Nominations:

Nominations: <u>Lauren Cieslak, on nomination by Emert</u>

Nominations closed: Ballot for PSBA Liaison Lauren Cieslak

Seven Ayes, Zero Nays, Motion carried

11. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION BY: Emert SECONDED BY: Cieslak

Motion carried

Time Adjourned: 7:12 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Jason Bashaw Secretary