

## SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Fall 2024

Dear Parent/Guardian:

The South Carolina Department of Public Health (DPH) is working with your school district to provide flu vaccines at your child's school this fall. This year DPH is offering both the flu shot and the flu nasal spray. It is important that all children get vaccinated every year.

There will be no cost to you or your child for the flu vaccine/nasal spray at school. If applicable, payment from Medicaid will be made to DPH on your behalf.

If you would like your child to get a flu vaccine or flu nasal spray at school:

1. Go to <u>https://apps.dhec.sc.gov/health/SCIAPPS/Public/SLVCValidate</u> using your smartphone, computer or tablet or scan the QR code with your smartphone to access the link.



2. Then, enter [

] as your validation code.

3. If you are not able to complete the online consent, complete the front of the attached form and return it to school within (5) days of receiving this letter.

If your child is under the age of 9, he or she may need to get a second flu vaccine or flu nasal spray for the best protection. You will be notified if your child will need a second flu vaccine or flu nasal spray.

If your child does not receive the flu vaccine or flu nasal spray at school, please contact your child's healthcare provider or health department to get the flu vaccine or nasal spray.

Sincerely,

Sherell Stevens, MBA, MPA Immunization Operations Section Director Bureau of Communicable Disease Prevention and Control S.C. Department of Public Health Once you have returned the Parent Consent Form, please contact the DPH Regional Immunization Office for your county before the scheduled vaccination clinic, if any of the following events occur:

- There are any changes in your child's health.
- You decide you no longer want your child to receive the flu vaccine at school.

## **DPH Regional Immunization Office Contact Information:**

- Allendale, Bamberg, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Hampton, Jasper, and Orangeburg counties: (843) 751-2896
- Aiken, Barnwell, Chester, Edgefield, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lancaster, Lexington, Newberry, Richland, Saluda, York counties: (803) 995-0038.
- Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg, Union counties: (864) 260-5609.
- Chesterfield, Clarendon, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Sumter, Williamsburg counties: (843) 413-6448.