APPROVED MINUTES SOUTHEASTERN COOPERATIVE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS JOINT BOARD MEETING June 11, 2024

The SECEP Joint Board ("Board") convened on June 11, 2024, at 11:00 am, at the SECEP Administrative office and virtually. Attending the meeting were:

JOINT BOARD MEMBERS:

Mr. Robert Holt Franklin Public Schools Chairman

Mr. Norman Pool Chesapeake Public Schools

Mrs. Brandi Perkins Isle of Wight County Public Schools

Mr. Carlos Clanton*
Ms. Quniana Futrell*
Norfolk Public Schools
Portsmouth Public Schools

Ms. Cassandra Hobbs Southampton County Public Schools

Dr. Judith Brooks-Buck Suffolk Public Schools

Ms. Kimberly Melnyk* Virginia Beach City Public Schools Vice-Chairwoman

SUPERINTENDENTS:

Dr. Jared Cotton Chesapeake City Public Schools Executive Officer

Dr. Sharon Byrdsong*

Dr. Elie Bracey*

Dr. John B. Gordon*

Norfolk Public Schools

Portsmouth Public Schools

Suffolk Public Schools

Dr. Donald Robertson* Virginia Beach City Public Schools

SECEP STAFF:

Ms. Laura Armstrong Executive Director

Dr. Dwana White Director of Human Resources

(*) Virtual

CALL TO ORDER:

Mr. Holt called the meeting to order at 11:00 am.

COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC:

None.

JOINT BOARD ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION:

LONG-TERM PROJECT FUND REQUEST:

Ms. Armstrong presented a letter from Dr. Byrdsong documenting the request from Norfolk Public Schools (NPS) to withdraw funds from SECEP's Long-Term Project Fund in the amount of \$625,000 to offset the cost of SECEP tuition for the 2024-2025 school year. As of May 22, 2024, NPS has \$1,798,744 available for use. After briefly discussing the fund, Mr. Pool motioned to approve the request, and Dr. Brooks-Buck seconded it. Motion carried (8 Ayes 0 Nays).

PERSONNEL DOCKET:

A motion to enter into a closed session was made by Dr. Brooks-Buck and seconded by Mrs. Perkins. The motion carried. (Ayes 8, Nays 0, Abstentions 0). The Motion for Entering Closed Session was read.

A Resolution Certification of Closed Session was read. Dr. Brooks-Buck motioned to uphold the recommendation from the closed session, which Ms. Perkins seconded. The motion carried (5 Ayes, 3 Nays).

ADJOURNMENT:

Mr. Holt adjourned the meeting at 12:30 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Laura armstrong

Laura W. Armstrong, Clerk of the Board

APPROVED:

Mr. Robert Holt Chairperson