REMSEN CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING AUGUST 8, 2017

<u>MINUTES</u>

MEMBERS PRESENT: Brian Parent, Sonya Murray, Mark Williams, Mary Lou Allen

MEMBERS ABSENT: James Reilly

OTHERS PRESENT: Rebecca Dunckel-King, Catherine Chandler, Carleen Taylor, Kelly

Runninger, Debbie Roscup, Jennifer Harvey, Rayne Ives

Meeting called to order by Brian Parent, Board President, at 5:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance recited by all present.

No public participation

Motion by Mary Lou Allen, second by Mark Williams:

"RESOLVED, that the Board of Education of the Remsen Central School District, pursuant to Section 2509 of the Education Law and in compliance with Part 30.3 of the Rules of the Board of Regents, upon the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, does hereby appoint Jennifer Harvey of New Hartford, NY to the position of teacher in the Elementary tenure area for a probationary appointment of four years to commence on September 1, 2017 and to expire on June 30, 2021;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that during her first year of this appointment be paid at the annual salary at Step 1, Column A on the salary schedule with the Remsen Teachers Association." Vote -4 yes; 0 no James Reilly absent

Motion by Sonya Murrary, second by Mary Lou Allen:

"RESOLVED, that the Board of Education of the Remsen Central School District, pursuant to Section 2509 of the Education Law and in compliance with Part 30.3 of the Rules of the Board of Regents, upon the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, does hereby appoint Rayne Ives of Lee Remsen, NY to the position of teacher in the Agriculture tenure area for a probationary appointment of four years to commence on September 1, 2017 and to expire on June 30, 2021;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that during her first year of this appointment be paid at the annual salary at Step 1, Column A on the salary schedule with the Remsen Teachers Association." Vote -4 yes; 0 no James Reilly absent

Motion by Sonya Murray, second by Mary Lou Allen:

"RESOLVED, that the Board of Education appoint the following mentors for the 2017-2018 school year: Kim Tucker for Jennifer Harvey; Linda Smith for Rayne Ives; Dale Dening and Jodi Ehart as co-mentors for Alicia Prunoske; Jamie Dening for Nicole Brockway and John Glass for Jason Matteson."

Vote – 4 yes; 0 no James Reilly absent

Motion by Mary Lou Allen, second by Sonya Murray:

"RESOLVED, that the Board of Education approve contract between RCS Board of Education and Assistant Transportation Supervisor, effective July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2020."

Vote – 4 yes; 0 no James Reilly absent

Motion by Mark Williams, second by Mary Lou Allen:

"RESOLVED, that the Board of Education approve confidential staff salary increases of 2% effective July 1, 2017."

Vote – 4 yes; 0 no
James Reilly absent

Motion by Sonya Murray, second by Mark Williams:

"RESOLVED, that the Board of Education appoint Richard Gallo as 11th grade class co-advisor with Amy Williams for the 2017-2018 school year."

Discussion of High School Athletic Code.

Motion by Mary Lou Allen, second by Sonya Murrary to adjourn the meeting at 5:40 p.m.