## BELFAST CENTRAL SCHOOL BOARD OF EDUCATION OFFICIAL MINUTES

Date: May 12, 2015 Where Held: Auditorium Time: 6:30 p.m. Kind of Meeting: Budget Hearing Presiding Officer: Richard Hull, Jr.

T

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chris Enders, Richard Hull, Jr., Janine Preston, Josie Preston MEMBERS ABSENT: Cecy Curcio, Randa Harington, Patricia Krotz OTHERS PRESENT: Judy May, Superintendent, Michael Roche, Principal, Robert Lingenfelter, District Treasurer, Eileen Ostrander, District Clerk, Deborah Borden, Teacher's Association Representative, Monica Arnold, Betty Bunt, Eva Heaney, Vicki Chamberlain, Public Library Trustees, Owen and Finn Heaney, Students; and Jane Roeske, Community Member. Priscilla Beardsley, Cafeteria Manager arrived at 6:51 p.m.

At 6:30 p.m., President Hull declared the budget hearing open to the public and all rose and recited the Pledge of Allegiance. Administrators and Board members were introduced.	Introduction
Monica Arnold spoke on behalf of the Belfast Public Library. She provided information on the proposed budget for 2015-16 reflecting a 2% percentage increase in property taxes and a 7.45% increase in the budget.	Library
President Hull called for nominations for the Belfast Town Library Board of Trustees. Monica Arnold nominated Eva Heaney to the Library Board of Trustees. Betty Bunt seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations, thereby Eva Heaney's name will appear on the ballot for Library Trustee at the May 19, 2015 budget vote and election. Carried	Heaney Library Trustee
Eileen Ostrander presented two petitions for the Belfast Central School Board of Education for the expired term of Cecy Curcio for five years from Cecy Curcio and Ashley Yackeren.	Petitions
Robert Lingenfelter presented the proposed budget of \$9,100,234 for the 2015-16 school year. The budget represents a 1.54 percentage increase in spending and a 2.48 percentage increase in the tax levy. Two propositions to be voted on were presented: the Belfast Central School budget and the Belfast Public Library budget.	Budget
At 7:08 p.m., Chris Enders made the motion, seconded by Janine Preston, to adjourn the meeting. Carried	