October 20, 2015

Dear Community Member, Business Member, and/or Educator:

You are invited to participate in the fifteenth year of Senior Projects. After researching a topic, creating a product, and making a portfolio, the seniors will present their projects to small panels of community members, business members, and educators. These presentations will take place on December 17-18, 2015, at Destrehan High School.

Prior to the presentations, all panel members are asked to view the Senior Project panelist video. This video can be viewed on the St. Charles Parish Public School website at http://www.stcharles.k12.la.us/. The Senior Project panelist video can be found under the Video icon. Click on the "Videos" icon, then click "Training Videos." The Senior Project Panelist video will be ready for viewing.

On the day of the presentations, following a brief welcome, the panel members will move to a classroom and view student portfolios in order to gain background information. Then, the students will individually present their projects. Each panel session will last approximately 20 minutes. During each session, the student will present his/her project. Afterwards the panel members will ask questions. After each student finishes, panel members will score each presentation using the enclosed rubric (scoring sheet).

The quality of education in our schools does not rest solely with educators but with involved community and business members, as well. Please consider becoming involved in the Senior Projects in St. Charles Parish. If you would like to become a panel member for the Senior Project presentations, please complete the enclosed volunteer form and return it as soon as possible. For more information, please contact Laura Abbey by phone at 985-785-7258 or email at labbey@stcharles.k12.la.us.

Sincerely,

Saura S. Abbey

Laura L. Abbey Supervisor of Curriculum and Instruction 13855 River Road Luling, LA 70070 985.785.6289 www.stcharles.k12.la.us

School Board Members

Ellis A. Alexander DISTRICT I Melinda H. Bernard DISTRICT 2 Dennis J. Naquin DISTRICT 3 Clarence H. Savoie DISTRICT 4 John L. Smith DISTRICT 5 John W. Robichaux DISTRICT 6 Arthur A. Aucoin DISTRICT 7 Alex L. Suffrin DISTRICT 8

Superintendent

Felecia Gomez-Walker

