

## SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

Video Conference - 7:00 p.m.

# **PUBLIC AGENDA**

### May 4, 2020

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER by Mr. James Nickel – President

- A. Moment of Silence
- B. **Pledge of Allegiance** "I Led the Pledge" Ashlynn Kazmarek, grade 1 at Haine Elementary School

https://svtube.svsd.net/play?id=utx9xsanyr



C. Roll Call

#### 2. **INFORMATION REPORTS**

#### A. Student/Staff Recognition – Ms. Linda Andreassi

- 1. It is with our deepest appreciation that we congratulate the following 2019-20 Seneca Valley School District Retirees for their unwavering dedication and commitment to the School District and its students. This group represents a combined 253.5 years of service:
  - a. Amy Cain Haine Elementary School Secretary 17 Years
  - b. Tony DelPrete Intermediate High School Counselor 18 Years
  - c. Carol Gallagher Intermediate High School Secretary 24 Years
  - d. Karen Kaiser Rowan Elementary School First Grade Teacher 22.5 Years
  - e. Terri Keller Haine Elementary School Second Grade Teacher 18 Years
  - f. Warren Mitchell Intermediate High School Custodian 26 Years
  - g. Harrison Moon Ryan Gloyer Middle School Custodian 19 Years
  - h. Cynthia Rape Evans City Elementary/Evans City Middle School Cafeteria – 31 Years
  - i. Daryl Seitz Ryan Gloyer Middle School Guidance Secretary 18.5 Years

- j. MaryAnn Stewart Connoquenessing Valley Elementary School Learning Support Teacher – 24.5 Years
- k. Kathy Williamson Intermediate High School Learning Support Teacher 15 Years
- 1. Cheryl Zorich Intermediate High School English Teacher 20 Years
  - Comments from School Board President
- 2. Seneca Valley students in Dan McKosky's video production classes brought home six awards from Robert Morris University's (Virtual) Digital Media Arts Consortium (DMAC) Student Video Festival held in early April. Over 500 students from Western Pennsylvania participated in the contest. This event provides students with the ability to interact with other students and see clips from productions from across the region.
- 3. Junior Kaitlyn Moore, and sophomores Rachel Spear and Veronica Pimenova, were recently recognized by the National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT). Miss Moore and Miss Spear were selected as 2020 Central and Western Pennsylvania Affiliate Honorable Mention recipients of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing. Miss Pimenova was named a 2020 Central and Western Pennsylvania Affiliate Rising Star recipient of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing.
- 4. Seneca Valley High School Math League team placed first in the region and 16th out of 34 high schools in the state. Individually, junior David Choi tied for 18th place in the state and Rachel Spear tied for 24th place in the state.
- 5. Ryan Gloyer Middle School Nurse Elizabeth Williams has been selected to receive the Advancing Excellence in School Nursing Award in the Transformation category by the Highmark Foundation. In addition to the recognition, Ms. Williams will receive a \$1,500 award to put toward professional development or the purchase of health-related supplies for students. More information will be made available via a press release by Highmark on May 6.

#### B. Dates to Remember – Ms. Andreassi

May 4	Board Meeting
May 5	National Teacher Appreciation Day
May 6	National School Nurse Day
May 10	Mother's Day
May 15	Instructional Day for K – 12 Students (no longer an Act 80 Day)
May 22	Last Day of Instruction for Seniors
May 25	Memorial Day Holiday - No remote/online instruction for students and staff
May 28	Graduation Celebration
May 29	Graduation Celebration

C. Financial Reports

- 1. Operations
- 2. Senior High Activities
- 3. Intermediate High Activities
- 4. Middle School Activities
- 5. Athletics
- 6. Food Service
- 7. Tax Collection Reports
- 8. Capital Projects Funds

#### 3. **PUBLIC COMMENT**

- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES Approval of April 20, 2020 minutes Mr. Nickel
- 5. **TREASURER'S REPORT** Ms. Lynn Burtner
- 6. **GENERAL FUND BILLS** Ms. Burtner Grand Total: \$2,043892.10
- 7. **CONSTRUCTION FUND BILLS** Ms. Burtner Grand Total: \$212,205.50
- 8. **ADMINISTRATION ACTION** Mr. Eric DiTullio
  - A. **<u>Board Policies</u>** Approve the following board policies:
    - 1. #314 Physical Exam Admin Employees, revised, third and final reading – Ms. Kyra Bobak
    - 2. #414 Physical Exam Professional Employees, revised, third and final reading – Ms. Kyra Bobak
    - 3. #514 Physical Exam Classified Employees, revised, third and final reading – Ms. Kyra Bobak
  - B. <u>2020 -21 Return-to-School Task Force</u> Authorize the administration to establish a "Return-to-School Task Force" comprised of administration, labor union representatives, teachers, school board members (2), parents and students to explore options and develop plans for instruction delivery and school operations for Fall 2020.

#### 9. **BUSINESS/FINANCE ACTION** – Mr. Mike Jacobs

- A. **Budget Transfers** Approve budget transfers.
- B. **PDE Lease** Acknowledge receipt of the PlanCon Part K, "Project Refinancing"
- C. **Depository/Treasurer** Appoint NexTier Bank as depository and treasurer for the 2020 2021 school year.

- D. **Proposed 2020-21 Budget** Approve the proposed 2020-21 budget in the amount of \$139,998,325 with <u>no millage increase</u> and authorize the budget to be made available for public inspection.
- E. **Drug Testing Fee** Approve a fee of \$30 (no increase) for drug testing for the 2020-21 school year.
- F. Haine Elementary School Re-Roofing Contract Award Approve Duro-Last, Inc. through the government cooperative purchasing program, TIPS (The Interlocal Purchasing System) vendor agreement for the Haine Elementary School re-roofing project to be completed in the Summer of 2020 in the amount of \$236,365,59; pending solicitor review of final agreement.
- 10. **PERSONNEL ACTION** Mr. Jeff Widdowson Approve appointments, leaves, retirement

#### 11. **COMMUNICATION** – Ms. Andreassi

A. Graduation Plans – emails from parents and students

- 1. Ms. Angela Dawson
- 2. Mr. Bill Dawson
- 3. Ms. Charlee Dawson (Student)
- 4. Ms. Bonnie Woodard
- 5. Ms. Melissa Carryer
- 6. Ms. Lori Pontzius
- 7. Ms. Amy Cheski
- 8. Ms. Georgia Ging
- 9. Ms. Laura Kurywchak
- 10. Ms. Amy Crawford
- 11. Ms. Hayley Cramer (Student)
- 12. Mr. and Ms. Jason Clark
- 13. Ms. Diane Smith
- 14. Mr. and Ms. Glenn Hansen
- 15. Mr. and Mrs. Scott Grosick
- 16. Mr. Robert Bittner
- 17. Mrs. Michelle Bittner
- 18. Mr. and Ms. Jeff Grassell
- 19. Mr. Ken Rochford
- B. Trisha Fronczak Rowan/Haine teacher parade
- C. Tammy Tappe Zoom board meeting feedback
- D. Andrew Marshall TRU face masks/PPE
- E. Rev. David Felts PA Society Sons of the American Revolution Poster Contest

#### 12. **ADJOURNMENT**