Seneca Valley School District



SCHOOL BOARD WORK SESSION

ZOOM

October 4, 2021

** Subject to Change**

- 1. **CALL TO ORDER** by Mr. Eric DiTullio, President
 - A. <u>Moment of Silence</u> In memory of Francis Vincent Barnes, Ph.D. Dr. Vitale https://www.theintell.com/obituaries/p0149042
 - B. <u>Pledge of Allegiance</u> "I Led the Pledge" Andrew Zavolta, a fourth grader from Rowan Elementary School https://svtube.svsd.net/play?id=u68k8jxuuq



C. Roll Call

2. **INFORMATION REPORTS**

A. <u>Dates to Remember</u> - Ms. Andreassi

October	National Principals Month and Breast Cancer Awareness Month
October 7	Homecoming Parade and Carnival
October 9	Homecoming Dances, Grades 9-12, 7-10:00 p.m.
October 11	Act 80 Day, No School for Students
October 12	Regular School Board Meeting, 7:00 p.m.
October 16	SHS PSAT Testing
October 22	SVAOC Cyber - End of First Nine Weeks, Grades 7-12
October 22 & 29	District-Wide Pink Out Days
October 23	SHS ACT Testing
October 25-29	Red Ribbon Week
October 27	SV Grades 7-12 End of First Nine Weeks

B. <u>Seneca Valley All-Star Award Winner</u> - Seneca Valley All-Star Award Winner, October 2021 - The Late Ray Albert, Bus Driver for ABC Transit, Inc.

C. <u>Student/Staff Recognition</u> - Ms. Andreassi

- 1. Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) recently announced Seneca Valley Senior Daniel Spear, as a Semifinalist in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. As a Semifinalist, Mr. Spear will have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than \$30 million that will be offered next spring. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, which will be announced in February 2022, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.
- 2. Seneca Valley Seniors Nicholas Foulkrod, Chris Helmsen, Kason Kunkelmann, Nick Nedzesky, Alex Neff, Shanker Pillai, Veronica Pimenova, Xavier Reese, Aidan Uher, Liam Volk-Klos and Merrick Wimer have been named Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, was presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors. These scholastically talented seniors are 11 of about 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation that are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2022 competition by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). Seneca Valley Senior High School Principal Bob Ceh added, "Our student body has a tremendous amount of talent and success within it and through the results of our PSAT test, these 11 students represent the talent and success of our academic programs. We are very proud of all of them and are excited for their current achievement as well as their future potential."
- D. <u>Information Technology Professionals Day (September 21)</u> Recognize the school technology assistants for their hard work and dedication to students and families during the pandemic.
 - Jodi Gianfrancesco Connoquenessing Valley Elementary School
 - Susan Hilliard Intermediate High School
 - Jennifer Kaufman Senior High School
 - Patricia Ristey Ryan Gloyer Middle School
 - Sandra Suski Rowan Elementary School
 - Kelly Swain Haine Elementary/Middle School
 - Pamela Weis Evans City Elementary/Middle School

E. **COVID-19 Update** - Dr. Vitale

F. **Agency Reports**

- 1. Vo-Tech Mr. Jim Nickel/Mr. Frederick Peterson, Jr.
- 2. I.U. IV Mr. Eric DiTullio
- 3. WPIAL Update Mr. Timothy Hester

G. <u>Legislative</u> - Mr. Eric DiTullio/Mr. Jim Nickel

H. Financial Reports

- 1. Operations
- 2. Senior High Activities
- 3. Intermediate High Activities
- 4. Middle School Activities
- 5. Athletics
- 6. Food Services
- 7. Tax Collections
- 8. Capital Projects Funds

3. **ACTION AGENDA**

- A. **Public Comment**
- B. <u>Personnel</u> Approve resignation, appointments, leaves, sabbaticals and retirement. (Executive Session)
- 4. **APPROVAL OF MINUTES** Mr. Jim Nickel
 - A. Work Session September 13, 2021
 - B. **Regular Meeting** September 20, 2021
- 5. **TREASURER'S REPORT** Ms. Burtner
- 6. **GENERAL FUND BILLS** Ms. Burtner

Grand Total: \$1,622,900.91

7. **CONSTRUCTION FUND BILLS** - Ms. Burtner

Grand Total: \$4,473,080.82

- 8. **ADMINISTRATION ACTION** Mr. Jim Nickel Approve the conference requests.
- 9. **INSTRUCTION** Ms. Susan Harrison
 - A. <u>Co-Ed Cricket Club</u> Approve the establishment of the Co-Ed Cricket Club at no cost to the District and under the supervision of volunteer sponsor Mr. David Reichard.
 - B. <u>Slippery Rock University (SRU) Transition Achievement Program</u> Approve the agreement for the SRU Transition Achievement Program with SRU to provide transition services for the 2021-22 school year. Dr. Roberts
 - C. <u>BC3 College Within High School (CWHS) Partnership Agreement</u> Approve the CWHS Partnership Agreement between Seneca Valley School District and Butler County Community College from July 1, 2021 June 30, 2022. Dr. Roberts

- D. <u>Grant Disbursements</u> Grant permission to apply for and disburse, if approved, the following grants:
 - 1. First Tech Challenge Grant funded by the Arconic Foundation in the amount of \$1,000 to fund the cost of equipment, fees and supplies related to the 2021-22 First Tech Challenge. Ms. Annie Mersing and Mr. Steve Fortunato
 - 2. Homeless Children and Youth Grant in the amount of \$62,248 funded by the United States Department of Education to support students who are experiencing homelessness to meet their physical and mental health needs. Dr. Jeff Roberts
- 10. **PERSONNEL ACTION** Mr. Jeff Widdowson (Executive Session)

11. **LETTERS SENT TO THE SCHOOL BOARD** - Ms. Andreassi

- Ms. Sylena Smith
- Mr. John Ciganik
- Ms. Andrea Tucker
- Ms. Stephanie Lane
- Ms. Jennifer Shattahi
- Mr. Philip and Ms. Aubrey Hart
- Ms. Josie Angel
- Ms. Erin McClymonds
- Ms. Bethany TeDesco Parrish
- Ms. Carrie Harold
- Mr. Kevin Strayhorn
- Ms. Meaza Tesfahun
- Ms. Andrea Tucker
- Mr. Parag Batavia
- Ms. Emily Droesch
- Ms. Rebecca Pribble
- Ms. Kelly Riddle
- Ms. Angela Priddy
- Mr. Mark Gartner
- Ms. Shannon Mihalacki
- Mr. Chris Droesch
- Mr. Matt Herrick
- Ms. Beth Lauer
- Ms. Susie Wanamaker
- Ms. Ellen Lippert
- Mr. Paul Fisher
- Ms. Kelly Scott

12. **ADJOURNMENT**