<u>MISSION STATEMENT</u>: We are committed to or exceeding the NJ Student Learning Standards at all grade levels in all areas, and providing a safe and supportive environment where all students are inspired, empowered, and encouraged to maximize their unique potential.

<u>VISION STATEMENT</u>: Students will become life-long learners, critical thinkers, and creative problem solvers who achieve success as valuable and contributing members of society.

ORGANIZATION MEETING was held on January 5, 2017 at Administration Building, 1 Crest Way, Aberdeen, NJ.

I. CALL TO ORDER

School Business Administrator, Mr. Alex Ferreira, called the Re-Organization Meeting to order at <u>8:00</u> pm.

II. OPENING STATEMENT

Mr. Ferreira read the following Statement:

"The New Jersey Open Public Meeting Law was enacted to insure the right of the public to have advance notice of and to attend the meetings of public bodies at which any business affecting their interest is discussed or agreed upon. In accordance with the provision of this act, the Matawan-Aberdeen Regional School District Board of Education advertised this meeting on December 22, 2016. This notice was sent to the Asbury Park Press, the Star Ledger, the Municipal Clerks of the Borough of Matawan and the Township of Aberdeen, and the Matawan-Aberdeen Joint Free Public Library. The notice was also placed on the district's web site."

III. PLEDGE TO THE FLAG

IV. CERTIFICATION OF ELECTION RESULTS

Mr. Ferreira read the official results of the Annual School District Election held on Tuesday, November 8, 2016:

Election of Board Members	Votes Cast
Dr. John P. Delaney (Aberdeen)	4,441
Ms. Joelle Nappi (Aberdeen)	4,695
Write-In (Aberdeen)	110
Ms. Anissa Esposito (Matawan)	2,031
Write-In (Matawan)	17
Mr. Kevin Ahearn (Matawan) 1 year unexpired term	2,335
Write-In (Matawan) 1 year unexpired term	20

Combined Statement of Results for 2016

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board have the Combined Statement of Results of the 2016 School Election made part of the annual organization meeting minutes.

RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING – January 5, 2017

V. OATH OF OFFICE

Mr. Ferreira administered the oath of office to the new Board members in the order listed on the agenda.

Dr. John P. Delaney	3 Year Term
Ms. Joelle Nappi	3 Year Term
Ms. Anissa Esposito	3 Year Term
Mr. Kevin Ahearn	1 Year Unexpired Term

VI. ROLL CALL

Present:	Dr. John Delaney Ms. Joelle Nappi Ms. Kathleen Gentile Mr. Kevin Ahearn Ms. Allison Friedman	Ms. Anissa Esposito Mr. Kenneth Aitken Ms. Tara Martinez Mr. Weymouth Brittingham
Absent:	None	
Also Present:	Dr. Joseph Majka, Superintendent of Schools Mr. Alex Ferreira, School Business Administrator/Board Secretary Mr. Brian Walsh, Director of Personnel Ms. Nelyda Perez, Director of Special Services	

VII. NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

The Board Secretary called for nominations for the office of Board President.

Call for Nominations:	
Ms. Gentile	Nominated by: Ms. Nappi

The Board Secretary did not receive any other nominations and nominations were closed.

VOTE FOR ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

It was approved by a unanimous roll call vote to elect <u>Ms. Gentile</u> as President of the Board of Education.

VIII. NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF VICE-PRESIDENT

The Board President directed the School Business Administrator to proceed with nominations for Vice President. The Board Secretary called for nominations for the office of Vice-President.

Call for Nominations:Ms. EspositoNominated by: Mr. Aitken

The Board Secretary did not receive any other nominations and nominations were closed.

VOTE FOR ELECTION OF VICE-PRESIDENT

It was approved by a unanimous roll call vote to elect <u>Ms. Esposito</u> as Vice-President of the Board of Education.

RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING – January 5, 2017

IX. PUBLIC COMMENTS RELATING TO BOARD AGENDA ITEMS

Ms. Nappi congratulated Ms. Gentile, newly elected Board President and thanked Ms. Esposito, the outgoing Board President and Dr. Delaney, the outgoing Vice-President for their service.

Ms. Gentile thanked the board for the trust in her for this position.

X. PUBLIC COMMENTS RELATING TO ADDITIONAL MATTERS

XI. ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by <u>Ms. Esposito</u>, seconded by <u>Mr. Ahearn</u> and a unanimous roll call vote the Board adjourned the meeting at 8:13 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Alex Ferreira School Business Administrator/Board Secretary