

Minutes of a Regular Meeting of the Peak to Peak Board of Directors

Wednesday, October 12, 2022

In person and via videoconference Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81747791421

The Peak to Peak community will inspire students to fulfill their academic dreams for college, to develop their creative passions and athletic talents, and to become responsible citizens.

1. Call to Order and Roll Call: Wesley Kirk @ 5:05 pm

Voting Board members in attendance: Brian Boonstra, Chirag Shah (for portions of the meeting),

Eveline Grady, Marlene Martin, Marcus Watkins, Wesley Kirk and David Woo

Ex-Officio: Kyle Mathews, Clara Quinlan, Sam Todd, Melissa Christensen, and Jennie Klein

Absent: None.

Guests: Jennifer Dauzvardis, Dan Koerner, Keri Dunphy, Kristianna Vedvik, John Wilcox, Traci Schoeneweis, Sarah Greene, Vicki Lundquist, and other guests

2. Consent Grouping: Wesley Kirk @ 5:05 pm (VOTE)

Motion to approve the 9/14/2022 meeting minutes: Marcus Watkins

Second: Wesley Kirk

The motion was approved unanimously 6-0-0:

Yay	Abstain	No
Brian Boonstra		
Eveline Grady		
Marcus Watkins		
Marlene Martin		
Wesley Kirk		
David Woo		

3. Public Comments: Wesley Kirk @ 5:06 pm

No public comments tonight.

4. Celebrations/Kudos: Board @ 5:07 pm

- Eveline Grady thanked Macaela Holmes Fuller and the High School counseling team for College Day.
- Marlene Martin thanked the Middle School team for the 6th grade overnight field trip and the coaches and staff for a successful fall sports season.
- Melissa Christensen thanked the BASCC team, especially Dulce Carter, Jadyn Cannon and Katherine Oliva.
- Jennie Klein thanked the High School staff for putting together Homecoming, the coaches for the good games and great school spirit.
- Clara Quinlan thanked the K-12 teaching staff for engaging in the first professional development day of the year, and Jennifer Dauzvardis for updating the website with awesome pictures.
- Sam Todd thanked the bus driver team, Tenzin Chosang, Sam Cardonsky and Richard Free for becoming certified or being in the process to drive the electric buses.
- Wesley Kirk thanked Sam Todd for organizing the buses, drivers and the tour for the board this evening.
- Kyle Mathews thanked Tracy Durland and Allison Cross for the successful PSAT testing.

Chirag Shah joined the meeting.

5. Accountability Committee: @ 5:10 pm

This item was postponed to the next meeting as the accountability committee is still evaluating survey responses.

6. FAMLI: Sam Todd and Kristianna Vedvik @ 5:11 pm

Sam Todd and Kristianna Vedvik discussed the new Colorado Family and Medical Leave Insurance (FAMLI) program (passed as Proposition 118 on the November 2020 ballot) which will go into effect on January 1, 2023. The overview included its impacts on staff, the budget, current coverage for staff and alternatives. Discussion ensued and questions were asked and answered.

Marcus Watkins moved to have Peak to Peak decline participation in FAMLI for all portions of FAMLI as a local government. The motion was seconded by Wesley Kirk.

Yay	Abstain	No
Brian Boonstra Chirag Shah Eveline Grady Marcus Watkins Marlene Martin Wesley Kirk David Woo		

The motion was approved unanimously 7-0-0:

7. Equity Committee: Chirag Shah, Jennie Klein @ 5:18 pm

Jennie Klein and Chirag Shah presented an overview of the recruiting process for the new equity committee. She highlighted that there were more qualified candidates than positions and that everybody was welcome to join the committee even if not chosen as a member. Discussion ensued and questions were asked and answered.

Marcus Watkins motioned to appoint the following members to the newly-formed equity committee:

<u>Teacher/ Counselors/Staff</u> Anita Chakraborty-Spotts (Middle School Representative) Mary Cambell (High School Representative) Alison Berman (Interim Elementary Representative) Dulce Carter (Non instructional) Haiyan Li (Para) Keri Dunphy (Staff Development) Jennie Klein (Executive Director)

<u>Parents:</u> Emily Fleischmann (Middle) Ashutosh Trivedi (Middle, High) Ieshan Jain (Elementary, High) Lisa Jones (Elementary) Diangy Zaronias (High) KarWei Koay (Elementary, Middle)

The motion was seconded by Wesley Kirk.

The motion was approved unanimously 7-0-0:

Yay	Abstain	No
Brian Boonstra		
Chirag Shah		
Eveline Grady Marcus Watkins		
Marlene Martin		
Wesley Kirk		
David Woo		

8. EDO Job description: Eveline Grady, Chirag Shah @ 5:23 pm

Eveline Grady presented an update to the job description for the EDO position, a draft of which was previously circulated to the Board for review. Discussion ensued. Questions were asked and answered.

Brian Boonstra moved to adopt the EDO job description, substantially in the form as presented to the Board, subject to minor amendments. Marcus Watkins seconded.

The motion was approved unanimously 7-0-0:

Yay	Abstain	No
Brian Boonstra		
Chirag Shah		

Eveline Grady	
Marcus Watkins	
Marlene Martin	
Wesley Kirk	
David Woo	

9. EDO Hiring Update: Eveline Grady @ 5:38 pm

Eveline Grady provided an update on the EDO hiring process, the timeline and the next steps. Discussion ensued and questions were asked and answered.

10. Curriculum Proposals: Kyle Mathews @ 5:45 pm

Kyle Mathews discussed the three new curriculum proposals, a draft of which was previously circulated to the Board. The proposals comprise two new optional texts for 11th and 12th grade, *Kite Runner* by Khaled Hosseini and *There There* by Tommy Orange as well as a new Integrated Math Program to replace the current traditional math route in high school. The IMP curriculum also utilizes the STAR math diagnostic and testing. Discussion ensued and questions were asked and answered.

11. EDO/EDE Reports: Sam Todd and Jennie Klein @ 6:07 pm

Sam Todd and Jennie Klein shared highlights from their respective reports. The written reports were distributed to the Board prior to the meeting.

**** Break from 6:36 pm to 6:47 pm ****

12. Strategic Plan: Jen Dauzvardis @ 6:47 pm

Jennifer Dauzvardis and Marcus Watkins provided an update on the work on the strategic plan.

13. Adjourn to Executive Session: Chirag Shah @ 7:20 pm

Motion to adjourn the regular meeting and enter executive session to discuss BVSD bond/contract negotiation strategy and to discuss real estate acquisition per C.R.S. § 24-6-402(e)(I): Marcus Watkins

Second: Wesley Kirk

The motion was approved unanimously 7-0-0:

Yay	Abstain	No
Brian Boonstra Chirag Shah David Woo Eveline Grady Marcus Watkins Marlene Martin Wesley Kirk		

14. Executive Session to discuss BVSD bond/contract negotiation strategy and to discuss real estate acquisition per C.R.S. § 24-6-402(e)(I): Chirag Shah @7:21 pm

Roll Call, voting board members in attendance: Brian Boonstra, Chirag Shah, Eveline Grady, Marlene Martin, Marcus Watkins, Wesley Kirk and David Woo

The Board entered executive session at 7:21pm and concluded at 8:12pm.

Motion to adjourn the executive session: Brian Boonstra Second: David Woo

The motion was approved unanimously 7-0-0:

Yay	Abstain	No
Brian Boonstra Chirag Shah David Woo Eveline Grady		
Marcus Watkins Marlene Martin Wesley Kirk		

Respectfully submitted,

Marlene Martin

Marlene Martin Board Secretary Peak to Peak Board of Directors