## The Maurice Morley Literacy Award

This award was created in Mr. Maurice Morley's name to recognize a student who has demonstrated exceptional determination and perseverance on the road to reading.

The award is supported by the Rotary Club of Ballston Spa. This initiative honors the legacy of Village History Consultant Morley who was born in April of 1922 and how he struggled his entire life due to dyslexia. To his credit, Mr. Morley proudly donned a cap and gown to receive his Ballston Spa High School diploma some 60 years after his peers. His is a heart-warming study of determination and perseverance as well as what can be achieved when one opts to make the whole world one's classroom.

The award includes a certificate along with a gift certificate to a local bookstore.

I am proud to announce that The Morley Literacy Award goes to two students this year: **Ivy Wright** 

#### **Perfect Attendance**

The flu, the stomach bug, and the common cold are all things that can keep us from coming to school. Five students this year have shown that they have a supercharged immune system and have 100% attendance. Will the following students please stand and be recognized for their perfect attendance:

#### • Whitley Miller

#### • Kallie Pingelski

# I would like to invite Coach Glogowski to the stage for next award:

## **Physical Education Student Leadership Award**

The following students were selected for the Sandra G. Morley Physical Education Student Leadership Award. Students are selected by the PE Staff on the basis of leadership skills. The recipients demonstrate responsible personal and social behavior, sportsmanship and citizenship. The students are seen to have a positive influence on their peers, they value learning and they are physically active. Please join me in congratulating the following students for their continued efforts and positive influence here at Gordon Creek elementary school:

- Mia Ebbecke
- Matthew Fitzpatrick
- Connor Galvin
- Andrew Jenkins
- Sydney Petar
- Grace Poutre
- Jorge Rodriguez
- Lauren Salazar

#### **Kid of Character Award**

The Kid of Character Award recognizes students for doing the right thing even when no one is watching. Students are selected by a group of teachers and staff for their demonstration of character throughout the school day and across school settings.

This year's Kids of Character are:

- Brayden Eames
- Justice Johnson
- Peyton Pagoda
- Connor Galvin
- Lillian Jenkins
- Kallie Pingelski
- Katalina Fraumane
- Mathew Williams

#### The Principal's Award

Awarded to one student from each fifth grade class that consistently demonstrates high levels of academic achievement, good citizenship, and leadership.

- Marcus Fogle
- Avery Kinne
- Whitley Miller
- Tomorah Williams

#### The Comptroller Award

The New York State Comptroller's Achievement Award is presented each year to a student who has excelled academically and has also shown leadership potential by volunteering his or her time to serve the school or community. Comptroller DiNapoli sends his sincere congratulations and best wishes to the graduating class of 2023.

#### This year's recipients are:

- Mia Ebbecke
- Matthew Fitzpatrick
- Justice Johnson
- Sydney Petar
- Grace Poutre
- Laure Salazar
- Charlie Tomaso

## The Triple C Award

This award recognizes the "Commitment, Character, and Courage" of New York's hard-working students. This award goes to two students who have demonstrated academic success, community service, peer leadership, and overcoming personal obstacles.

- Vivian Case
- Annabella Messier

## President's Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement

This award recognizes students that show outstanding social, emotional, and/or educational growth. On a daily basis they have put forth tremendous effort to better themselves as students and individuals.

- Ethan Diel-Benton
- Riley Fitzgerald
- Marcus Fogle
- Allie Tromans
- Keniel Morales
- Chloe Anderson
- Aria Yarak
- Hunter Pettit
- Ben Driver
- Jace Gardner
- Alexa Huss
- Dylan McFall
- Kallie Pingelski
- Rocco Congero
- Katalina Fraumane
- Hayden Nathe

## President's Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence

This award recognizes students who have consistently demonstrated academic excellence in the classroom, with positive behavior, effort and responsibility. These students are seen as leaders and demonstrate respect to others around them.

- Brayden Eames
- Carter Farrar
- Andrew Jenkins
- Justice Johnson
- Sydney Petar
- Tiffany Stolz
- Gia Caleo
- Abbey Oliver
- Tomorah WIlliams
- Henry Whittemore
- Vivian Case
- Avery Kinne
- Olivia Nowak
- Grace Poutre
- Charlie Tomaso

- Annabella Messier
- Whitley Miller
- Liana Kinne
- Mia Ebbecke
- Ellie Goodmore

Congratulations to all the award winners!!