

JULY MEETING MINUTES

Manning Oaks Elementary School Governance Council

Date | time 07/22/2020 | 10:00 am | Location Microsoft Teams

SGC Members

Mrs. Rosenthall, Principal | Ms. Glastetter, Teacher | Ms. Powell, Teacher | Ms. Denney (vacant), Teacher | Mr. Wright (vacant), Curriculum Support Teacher | Ms. MacKenzie Parent | Ms. Geppert, Parent | Mr. Ulmer, Parent | Aaron Snow, Community Member | Mr. Hetherington, Community Member |

Absent: Mr. Ulmer

Time	Item	Owner
10:00am	Action Item: Call to Order	Mrs. Rosenthall
	Meeting was called to order at 10:11am on Microsoft Teams by Ms. Rosenthall.	
10:02am	Action Item: Approve Agenda	Mrs. Rosenthall
	Ms. Powell motioned to approve the agenda. Ms. MacKenzie seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	
10:05am	Action Item: Approve May Meeting Minutes	Mrs. Rosenthall
	Mr. Snow motioned to approve the May meeting minutes. Mr. Wright seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	
10:10am	Informational Item: Appoint Staff Position	Mrs. Rosenthall
	Mr. Patrick Wright, the curriculum support teacher, is taking over Mrs. LeMetra Dismuke's position. She moved to Northview High School to be an Assistant Principal in February 2020.	
	Mr. Snow motioned to approve the appointed staff position. Ms. MacKenzie seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	
10:12am	Action Item: Nominate Community Member & Fill Vacancies	Mrs. Rosenthall
	The nominated community member is Scott Hetherington. He is a parent of MOE, ran in the parent election, and works for the Fulton County School System. He is taking the place of Sarah Feltrop who was a community member from the YMCA.	
	Ms. Megan Denney is filling the staff vacancy. She is an EIP teacher at MOE.	
	Mrs. Jordan Glastetter is the newly elected staff member. She is an Art teacher at MOE.	
	Mr. Snow motioned to approve the new members. Ms. MacKenzie seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	

Time	Item	Owner
10:15 am	Action Items: Elect New Officers (Chair, Vice Chair, Parliamentarian)	Mrs. Rosenthall
	The chair for 2020-2021 will be Mr. Scott Hetherington. Ms. Powell motioned to approve the chair. Ms. Geppert seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	
	The vice chair for 2020-2021 will be Mr. Patrick Wright. Mr. Snow motioned to approve the vice chair. Mr. Hetherington seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	
	The parliamentarian for 2020-2021 will be Ms. Ashtyn Powell. Mr. Snow motioned to approve the parliamentarian. Mr. Hetherington seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	
10:25 am	Action Items: Staff Standing Committees (Budget and Finance, Outreach and Communication, Principal Selection [chair + 3 members)	Mrs. Rosenthall
	Budget and Finance Committee members:	
	Co- Chairs: Mr. Hetherington and Mr. Snow	
	Members: Mr. Hetherington, Mr. Snow, Mr. Wright, Mr. Ulmer, and Ms. Glastetter	
	Outreach and Communication Committee members:	
	Chair: Ms. Denney	
	Members: Ms. Denney, Ms. Geppert, Ms. Powell, and Ms. MacKenzie	
	Principal Selection Committee members:	
	Chair: Mr. Hetherington	
	Members: Mr. Hetherington, Mr. Snow, Ms. Glastetter, and Mr. Wright	
	Ms. MacKenzie motioned to approve the committee members. Mr. Hetherington seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	
	Mr. Hetherington and Mr. Snow were nominated as co-chairs for the Budget and Finance Committee. Ms. Denney was nominated for chair of the Outreach and Communication Committee.	
	Ms. MacKenzie motioned to approve the chair positions. Ms. Geppert seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.	
10:35 am	Discussion Item: Determine Meeting Schedule for SY 2020-2021	All Members
	The SGC meetings will be on Tuesdays at 4:20pm once every other month with the entire SGC. The committees will meet every other month. A time will be determined.	
10:50 am	Informational Item: Principal's Update	Mrs. Rosenthall
	Ms. Rosenthall updated the committee members about the start of the school year. It will be a universal remote learning start on August 17th. The number of students is where they are expected to be at for this time of the year. There will be new paw prints painted on the front sidewalk. Ms. Glastetter painted the columns of the hallways with crayons. New playground equipment was purchased and is being installed. A new electronic marquee sign was installed. More information about the school year will be shared at the next SGC meeting after the county board meeting.	
11:00 am	Discussion Item: Set Next Meeting Agenda	Elected Chair

Time Item

Ms. Rosenthall set the next meeting agenda. We will discuss the strategic plan committees, meeting norms, and other items. The next full committee SGC meeting will be August 25th at 4:20 pm on Microsoft Teams.

11:10 am

Meeting Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:40am. Mr. Snow motioned to approve the meeting adjournment. Mr. Hetherington seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.

Meeting Norms: TBD