# **Board Clips**

# ROSEBURG PUBLIC SCHOOLS

# Time & Location:

The March 13, 2024 School Board Meeting was held in the Melrose Elementary School multi-purpose room located at 2960 Melrose Road in Roseburg, and available via Zoom.



#### SUPERINTENDENT JARED P. CORDON

Superintendent Cordon shared positive examples of our students, including Massimo Falleni as the recipient of the Future First Citizen award. Choir and band students celebrated Music in Our Schools Month with performances at the DC Courthouse. Celebration of Literacy events continued with elementary students being treated to a literacy play at RHS. Staff and students are celebrating 100 days of school! RHS Robotics teams competed at the FIRST Tech Challenge Oregon Championship Tournament, with several placements. Leo Gimbel-Cook is one of four Oregon students to win the Dean's List Award for academics and student leadership. He advances to the World Championships in Houston, Texas. Jared shared favorite Audry Hepburn quotes as he emphasized that there is nothing more important than a child. He advised that efforts are being made to assure that our Roseburg Virtual School (RVS) continues to serve students, with adjustments being made to become cost-neutral. A huge thank you to Ford Family Foundation for providing food at our softball field grand-opening!

# **Next Board Meeting:**

April 10, 2024 @ 6:00 p.m. Roseburg High School Media Center located at 400 W. Harvard Blvd. in Roseburg, Oregon Also available via Zoom ODE leaders visited RHS this week to see first-hand and learn about our incredible and innovative programs.

# Melrose Elementary School Home of the Bulldogs!

Principal Darin Lomica led a tour of the school, highlighted by "Miss Barry" leading the board in a history lesson recollecting the era when the old school house was in use prior to being relocated to the Melrose campus due to generous donations of area clubs such as Rotary. Student Council students shared highlights of all things happening at Melrose that make the school so enjoyable for kids. Principal Lomica led the board through last year's state assessment data, and the specific steps being taken to increase progress toward state benchmarks.

# STUDENT AND STAFF RECOGNITION

Director Andrea Miner had the pleasure of presenting honorary certificates and McDonald's gift cards to outstanding students including:

- \* Ruby Ellis, Fifth Grade student at Melrose; and
- \* Halle Miller, Sixth Grade student at Fremont Middle School.

Chairman Rodney Cotton had the honor of presenting Crystal Apple Awards to the following staff members:

- ♦ Jessy Lawrence, Librarian at Melrose Elementary; and
- Kathy Spears, Third Grade Teacher at Melrose, for forty years!

Chair Cotton noted that these staff members are excellent examples of the reason that the Crytal Apple award was initiated by the School Board decades ago. Congratulations to tonight's recipients.

# **Action Items**

The Board approved the Consent Agenda, consisting of the Agenda; Minutes from the February 7th board meeting; contracts for Supt. Cordon, administrative staff and confidential employees, contract addendums for Michelle Knee and Cheryl Northam; a Surplus Items Listing; Gifts to the District; and personnel actions including:

Licensed Hire Recommendation: Kristina Alldridge, LRC Teacher at Eastwood Elementary School, a temporary position for 2023-24.

# Resignations:

- ◆ Kayla Hawkins-Carter, Kindergarten Teacher at Sunnyslope Elementary;
- ♦ Emilie Cochran, Choir Teacher at Jo Lane MS;
- ♦ Christopher Cockman, RHS Language Arts Teacher;
- ♦ Robert Coulson, Assistant Principal at RHS;
- ♦ Olivia King; Fourth Grade Teacher at Fullerton IV, effective Feb. 15, 2024;
- ♦ William "Jason" Lipe, Assistant Principal at RHS;
- ♦ Arica Pynch, Math Teacher at Jo Lane MS.

Unless otherwise noted, these resignations are effective at the end of the 2023-2024 school year.

#### **BOARD ACTIONS, Continued**

- \* Renewal or Nonrenewal of contracts for the 2024-25 school year per ORS 342.513 including probationary administrator renewals; contract administrator extensions; probationary teacher renewals; Two-year teacher contact extensions; and contracts expiring at the end of the 2023-2024 school year were approved.
- \* Approved a purchase from Bargreen-Ellingson for replacement of dishwashing machines to be installed at six elementary schools and both middle schools. The Nutrition Services Fund will cover the \$389,941 expenditure.
- \* Approval of purchase of an interactive 3D anatomy dissection table and necessary software, training and licensing from Anatomage for the Health Sciences Dept in the amount of \$80,060. This equipment is the same as that used at UCC.

\* Approved a contract award to S+B James Construction Management in the amount of \$1,535,294 to add secure vestibules at Fullerton IV, Green, Hucrest, Melrose and Sunnyslope Elementary Schools. S+B James Vice President Terry Mackey will be in attendance at the April 10th board meeting.

### Welcome to our new Budget Committee Members

The Board unanimously approved the appointment of three members to the Budget Committee. A warm welcome to Becky Marr, Nicole Messenger and Mia Murphy. The 2024-25 budget process begins with the April 17th Budget Committee Meeting. Congratulations!.

# Student Leadership Report

Leadership students Hannah Heuberger and Raeleigh Travis shared the most current sports results, along with activities that included planning for this year's prom, themed "The Great Gatsby" selected by the students. Each year the week prior to Spring Break is "Kindness Week". Handwritten affirmation cards, animals from the Wildlife Safari, chess tutorials and other lunch time activities are on tap. RHS spring concert is March 14th. Massimo Falleni is recipient of the Future First Citizen scholarship. Robotics student Leo Gimbel-Cook will attend the world championships in Houston.

Student Enrollment

02/29/2024	2024	2023
Elementary	2580	2682
Middle School	1238	1228
High School	1590	1548
Phoenix Charter	166	190
Total	5574	5648

# **School Board:**

Rodney D. Cotton, Chair Rev. Howard Johnson, V Chair Steve Hammerson Ann Krimetz Michael Leone Andrea Miner Andrew Shirtcliff