# KENNEWICK SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 17 SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING DISTRICT ADMINISTRATION CENTER February 20, 2024

## MINUTES

## MEMBERS PRESENT

<u>Board Members</u>: Gabe Galbraith, President of the Board; Micah Valentine, Vice President of the Board; Brittany Gledhill, Legislative Representative of the Board (Remotely); Dr. Josh Miller, Board Member (Remotely); Michael Connors, Board Member (Remotely); Mallory Dupaquier, Student Representative to the Board: and Dr. Traci Pierce, Superintendent and Secretary of the Board.

<u>Cabinet Members</u>: Matt Scott, Assistant Superintendent of K-12 Education; Robyn Chastain, Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations; Ron Cone, Executive Director of Information Technology.

#### CALL TO ORDER

President Gabe Galbraith called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance with approximately 107 online and in-person staff and guests.

### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

Dottie Stevens commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4. Julie O'Brien commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Jan Fraley commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Diane Sundvik commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Alisson Dabler commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Chuck Henager commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Amy Goatley commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Linda Stephenson commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Gayle Hane commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Charles May commented in support of Resolution No. 4 Mary Jo Wilkins commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Lisa Peppard commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Aaron Beasley commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Virginia Thomlinson commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Regina McConagly commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Brent Kirby commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Misty Muchlinkski commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Victoria Russell commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4 Richard Reuther commented in opposition to Resolution No. 4

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Resolution No. 4 2023-2024: Opposition to ESB 5462 and ESHB 2331

Page 2 Minutes February 20, 2024

Board discussion followed.

Mr. Connors left the meeting at 9:50 a.m.

Motion by Micah Valentine to approve Resolution No. 4 2023-24: Opposition to ESB 5462 and ESHB 2331.

Seconded by Brittany Gledhill.

Roll call vote:

Mr. Galbraith

Yes

Mr. Valentine

Yes

Ms. Gledhill

Yes

Dr. Miller

Yes

Motion carried 4-0.

There being no further business, the Board adjourned at 9:58 a.m.

RECORDING SECRETARY

PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD

CRETARY OF THE BOARD

Approved: February 28, 2024