

# **Bensenville Elementary School District**

Board of Education Regular Meeting Minutes – May 3, 2023

President, Dr. Chris McCullough called the special meeting of Bensenville Elementary School District 2 Board of Education, DuPage County to order at 6:30 p.m., at Educational Administration Center, 210 S. Church Road, Bensenville, Illinois.

Roll call verified that there was a quorum of the Board present with the following members present and absent as listed below:

Board of Education	Title	Present	Absent
Jacqueline Dye	Member	Х	
Katie Krajecki	Member	Х	
Bob Laudadio	Member	Х	
Marisol Leyva	Secretary	Х	
Chris McCullough	President	Х	
Lori Parthimos	Treasurer	Х	
James Stoltman	Vice-President	Х	
Administration			
Dr. Katie McCluskey	Superintendent	Х	
Mr. Paul Novack	C.F.O.	Х	
EAC Staff			
	Administrative Asst. to the Superintendent &		
Cindy Snyder	Clerk of the Board	Х	

**Staff in attendance:** Joe West - BSD2 Tech team member, Anne Paonessa - Interim Director of Teaching & Learning, Tim Waldorf – Community Relations Coordintor

### Pledge of Allegiance

Dr. McCullough led the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### Public comments: none

#### Presentations:

**A. Presentation to Departing Board Members** - Dr. McCluskey presented the retiring Board Members Mrs. Katie Krajecki and Dr. Chris McCullough with a parting gift and kind words.

### **Administrative Reports**

A. Announcements - none

### Consent Item:

- A. Approval of Minutes
  - 1. Regular Board of Education Meeting April 5, 2023
  - 2. Regular Board of Education Meeting April 5, 2023 Closed Session

**Recommendation:** The Board of Education approves the above listed minutes as presented and attached.

A motion was made by Mrs. Krajecki and seconded by Mr. Laudadio that the Board of Education approve the minutes as presented.

Roll Call Vote:Aye:Krajecki, Laudadio, Dye, Leyva, McCullough, Parthimos, StoltmanNay:NoneAbsent:NoneMotion Carried.

## Conference/Action Item

A. Proclaim winners of April 4, 2023 school board member election - Dr. McCluskey presented the Official Canvass and Abstract of Votes. Dr. McCullough proclaimed that according to the Official Canvass of the Consolidated General Election held on April 4, 2023 the following members elected to the Board of Education:

### FOR MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION TO SERVE AN UNEXPIRED 2 YEAR TERM ending in 2025

• Bob Laudadio with a total of 1,318 votes

## FOR MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION TO SERVE A FULL 4 YEAR TERM ending in 2027

- Anita J. Miller with total of 1,074 votes
- Victoria Connie Gonzalez with a total of 1,012 votes
- Jacqueline Dye with a total of 1,004 votes
- James E. Stoltman, Jr. with a total of 945 votes

# р

## Adjournment

At 6:41 p.m. a motion was made by Mrs. Krajecki and seconded by Mr. Laudadio that the Board of Education adjourn the meeting sine die. Upon voice vote, all board members present voted aye. Motion carried.

No further business appearing Dr. McCullough adjourned the meeting at 6:41 p.m. sine die

President

Secretary



Mrs. Marisol Leyva was appointed President Protem.

Board Member Marisol Leyva swore in the new Board Members with the Oath of Office.

• Bob Laudadio, Victoria Gonzalez, Anita Miller and James Stoltman

President *pro tem* Marisol Leyva called the special meeting of Bensenville Elementary School District 2 Board of Education, DuPage County to order at 6:43 p.m., at Educational Administration Center, 210 S. Church Road, Bensenville, Illinois.

Roll call verified that there was a quorum of the Board present with the following members present and absent as listed below:

Board of Education	Title	Present	Absent
Jacqueline Dye	Member	х	
Victoria Gonzalez	Member	Х	
Bob Laudadio	Member	Х	
Marisol Leyva	Member	Х	
Anita Miller	Member	Х	
Lori Parthimos	Member	Х	
James Stoltman	Member	Х	
Administration			
Dr. Katie McCluskey	Superintendent	Х	
Mr. Paul Novack	C.F.O.	Х	
EAC Staff			
	Administrative Asst. to the Superintendent &		
Cindy Snyder	Clerk of the Board	Х	

**Staff in attendance:** Joe West, BSD2 Tech team member, Tim Waldorf, Community Relations Coordinator, Dr. Anne Paonessa, Interim Director of Teaching & Learning

Mrs. Leyva asked for nominations for the office of President. Mr. Laudadio and Mrs. Leyva were nominated for the office as President, after a roll call vote Mr. Robert Laudadio received 4 yes votes and 3 no votes. Mr. Laudadio receiving the majority of votes was elected to the office of President.

Mr. Laudadio assumed the position as President and thanked.

Mr. Laudadio asked for nominations for the office of Vice President. Mrs. Leyva was nominated for the office of Vice-President. No other nominations occurred. Mrs. Leyva announced there being one nominee, Mrs. Leyva was elected Vice President.

Mr. Laudadio asked for nominations for the office of Secretary. Mrs. Dye was nominated for the office of Secretary. No other nominations occurred. Mr. Laudadio announced there being one nominee, Mrs. Dye was elected Secretary.

Mr. Laudadio asked for nominations for the office of Treasurer. Mrs. Parthimos was nominated for the office of Treasurer. No other nominations occurred. Mr. Laudadio announced there being one nominee, Mrs. Parthimos was elected Treasurer.

A motion was made by Mrs. Leyva and seconded by Mr. Stoltman that the board set the dates and location for regular meetings per the attached schedule with the meeting start time of 6:30 p.m.

## **Roll Call Vote:**

Aye: Leyva, Stoltman, Dye, Gonzalez, Miller, Parthimos, Laudadio,

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion Carried.

### Appointment of Committees for 2023-2025

The following were appointed Representative and Alternate for the following committees:

- A. IASA Governing Board Representative Jacqueline Dye
- B. NDSEC Representative and Alternate Lori Parthimos as Representative and Bob Laudadio as alternate.
- c. BCF (Bensenville Community Foundation) Marisol Leyva as Representatives and Victoria Gonzalez.
- D. Rotary Club of Bensenville James Stoltman

### **Announcements**

A. Starting Right Workshop - Thursday, June 8, 2023 at TBD.

## **Adjournment**

At 7:00 p.m. a motion was made by Mrs. Dye and seconded by Mrs. Parthimos that the Board of Education adjourn the meeting. Upon voice vote, all board members present voted aye. Motion carried.

No further business appearing Mr. Laudadio adjourned the meeting at 7:00 p.m.

President

Secretary