Board Briefs is a monthly newsletter published after Board of Education meetings. For additional information, please contact the Communications Department at 591-0852.

#### Board extends contract for Superintendent Lieske

Davison Board of Education members unanimously agree that Superintendent **Eric Lieske** has exceeded expectations in his sixth year on the job. Board members approved extending Lieske's fiveyear contract another year.

Lieske was evaluated by the seven-member board during a closed session meeting April 25.

Board members rated Lieske in the areas of curriculum and instruction, community relations, student growth, personnel relations, fiscal and facilities management, professional leadership, board relations and goal attainment.

"Eric keeps his eye on the budget and closely follows what is happening at the state level," said Board President **Kathleen Sudia**. "We continue to provide a high quality education for our students with a very conservative budget."

"Eric has lofty goals and a tireless work ethic," said **Mark McGlashen**, Personnel Committee Chairperson. "Those have led to continued success for his administration and our district as a whole."

Lieske began his career in Davison in 1997. During his 19 years with the District, he has held roles including teacher, assistant principal, principal and assistant superintendent. He began serving as superintendent July 1, 2010.

# District to purchase used buses; replace filters on well systems

Board members approved the purchase of seven used school buses at last night's meeting.

The 2015 Thomas Saf-T-Liner C2 school buses are being purchased for \$462,000 from Hoekstra Transportation, Inc. and will replace six leased buses.

Board members also voted to replace filters on water filtration systems at Siple and Gates Elementary at a cost of \$72,750. These are the only two buildings in the district that operate on well water.



Where Kids Come First and Futures Begin

Connections **\***Curriculum **\***Opportunities



# Board gratefully accepts contributions

The following contributions have been offered to the district:

- A CPR/AED Drill Kit was donated by the Kimberly Anne Gillary Foundation. The donation, valued at \$550, will be used by the school nurse to train first aid responders.
- Lanny and Bobie
  Crongeyer, on behalf of
  Judicial Management
  Systems, Inc., donated
  \$500 to purchase track
  equipment for the Boys'
  Track and Field Team.
- Judy Noye donated \$500 to Hahn Intermediate for the 2016-17 start up of the Mezzo Voce Club.

# Board supports GISD budget

Board members voted to support the proposed budget for the Genesee Intermediate School District. State law requires local school boards to review and either support or disapprove of their annual intermediate school district's proposed budget.

# **Presentations**



The Girls' Varsity Bowling Team brought home its fourth state championship in five years following a spectacular season. Board members recognized team members and Coaches Bryan Davis and Robert Tubbs. Left to right are Athletic Director Dave Beamer, Tamara Tubbs, Taylor Davis, Coach Davis, Kalee Johnson, Coach Tubbs, Jenna Bearup, Superintendent Eric Lieske, Savana Kyle, Board Vice President Dale Green and Kailee Tubbs.



**Board members** recognized members of the Varsity **Wrestling Team** who earned All-State status. Left to right are Athletic **Director Dave** Beamer, Coach Randy Schlak, Brenden McRill, Superintendent Eric Lieske, Tanner Thomas, Deven Perez and Board **Vice President Dale** Green.

# **Presentations**



Sisters and Varsity Golf Team members Karsen and Kamryn Johnston were recognized as All-State student athletes. Left to right, Athletic Director Dave Beamer, Coach Darci Stocker, Karsen, Kamryn, Superintendent Eric Lieske and Board Vice President Dale Green.

Taylor Davis, a member of the Girls' Varsity Bowling Team achieved her goal of becoming an All-State Athlete this season. Pictured left to right are Athletic Director Dave Beamer, Taylor, Superintendent Eric Lieske and Board Vice President Dale Green.



## **Presentations**



#### All Academic Athletes recognized by Board of Education

This school year, 144 student athletes have been named as Saginaw Valley League All Academic Athletes. In order to qualify for the recognition, a student must be a sophomore, junior or senior; have participated in the sport more than one year and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 or higher

Students earning All Academic certificates include: Calvin Adams, Carlee Allard, Samantha Angus, Lindsey Anthony, Katherine Arnes, Bryce Bates, Makenna Bauldry, Jenna Bearup, Jerry Beaty, Justin Bishop, Hannah Blake, John Brabaw, Rachel Brown, Hogan Butler, Katyanne Calleja, Taylor Carter, Hunter Childs, Landan Chomic, Hunter Clark, Grace Close, Jacob Connolly, Trevor Coppler, Elizabeth Crandall, Todd Craton, Taylor Davis, Kylie Decker, Morgan Deckrow, Nickolas Densmore, Noah Dieterle, Alyssa Dorman, Lindsay Dorman, Jade Duncan, Ashlyn Dunham, Kyle Dymowski, Ryan Eckert, Olivia Eickhoff, Gabe Ellis, Andrew Fleming, Brendan Fleming, Tayler Ford, Kyle Fulton, Adrian Gill, Bailey Gipson, Nicholas Goyette, Thomas Goyette, Morgan Graham, Levi Hair, Samantha Hair, Abigail Hauch, Anna Hawk, Joseph Hayes, Sydney Hazen, Elizabeth Heavner, Jacob Hill, Tyler Holmes, Kelly Horton III, Kalee Johnson, Graham Jones, Hanna Jones, Madeline Karr, Lily Kelsey, Alexandra King, Andrea Larocque, Alexandria Lindsay, Lauryn Magno, Lucas Magno, Emily Martin, Sean Mason, Dillon McArthur, Jade McClellan, Kyle McGrath, Preston McNab, Jordan McNaughton, Katie McNew, Connor McPhee, David Meehleder, Erin Mulkey, Tyler North, Michelle O'Dell, Grace Olson, Victoria Ostrander, Hannah Pasco, Gabrielle Patykowski, Logan Peel, Samantha Pfiffner, Victoria Pickett, Kyle Pietras, David Pinter, Grant Polmanteer, Ryan Pratt, Molly Preisel, Abigail Radcliffe, Kathryn Rainwater, Madison Ramoie, Stephanie Ramoie, Hanna Reek, Jeffrey Reid, Nicholas Reid, Rachel Riopelle, Madalin Roberts, Ciara Robinson, Julia Rucker, Michael Rushlow, Abigail Schiestel, Jourdan Schmidt, Mariah Seybold, Isabella Sherwood, Justin Simpson, Zachery Simpson, Megan Skellenger, Nicholas Sleeman, Zachary Sleeman, Gabrielle Slezak, Zachary Slezak, Katelyn Smiles, Logan Smith, Tyler Smith, Payton Steinhaus, Olivia Stephenson, Claire Stoddard, Miranda Strobl, Brianna Talaska, Zachary Tersigni, Olivia Thiel, Samantha Tracey, Gabrielle Trembley, Abigail Trombley, Quinton Trombley, Kailee Tubbs, Noelle Tucker, Jacob Turgeon, Evan VandePutte, Chasen VanWormer, Sydney VanWormer, Jensen Vickerman, Maria Vukaj, McKenzie Wagner, Rylan Wagner, Olivia Waybrandt, Hunter Webb, Avery Williams, Ara Wilson, Dustin Wood and Alexandria Yorks.



### Recognizing Ryan

Board of Education student representative Ryan Myers was acknowledged for his service at the May 2 board meeting. Board Vice President Dale Green and Superintendent Eric Lieske present a plaque to Ryan for his second year of service on the board.



### Leading the Pledge

Students from Thomson Elementary led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance at the May Board of Education meeting. Students were accompanied by Thomson Elementary Principal Natalie Miller, teachers Mrs. Williams, Mrs. O'Brien, Mrs. Barraco and paraprofessional Mrs. Clark.



