MINUTES OF THE REORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE METROPOLITAN SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WABASH COUNTY

The annual reorganization meeting of the Board of Education of the Metropolitan School District of Wabash County, Indiana, was held at the Administrative Office at 204 N. 300 W., Wabash, Indiana, on January 9, 2024, 7:15 p.m. (EST) pursuant to notice duly given to all members in accordance with I.C. 20-26-4-1 and the 2020 rules of the Board.

MSDWC School Board met in regular session on January 9, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. at the Central Office. We will continue to livestream the meeting on Facebook Live. The public may comment in person or on Facebook Live during the appropriate times.

Kevin Bowman, Board President, called the meeting to order. Mike Keaffaber, Superintendent and Chris Kuhn, Assistant Superintendent were also present. Absent was Tim Drake, Chief Academic Officer. On call of the roll the members of the Board were shown to be present as follows: Matt Driscoll, Christian Rosen, Jeff Porter, and Scott Haupert. Also, present were Josh Petruniw, Gary Dawson, Frankie Dawson, Shellie Sarll, John Ketchel, Derek Lucas, and Mike McDivitt.

Kevin Bowman called for nominations for offices. Matt Driscoll made a motion to nominate Scott Haupert as President with Christian Rosen seconding that motion, and unanimously carried. Matt Driscoll made a motion to nominate Christian Rosen as Vice-President with Scott Haupert seconding that motion, and unanimously carried. Matt Driscoll made a motion to nominate Kevin Bowman as Secretary with Jeff Porter seconding that motion, and unanimously carried. Scott Haupert made a motion to nominate Jeff Porter as the Indiana School Board Association's Legislative Liaison delegate, a second by Christian Rosen, and unanimously carried. Christian Rosen made a motion to continue with Matt Driscoll being the representative of the Board of Managers at Heartland Career Center, a second by Scott Haupert, and unanimously carried.

The Board requested the continuation of The Law Office of Downs, Tandy, & Petruniw, P.C. as the Corporation Attorneys, at \$200.00 per hour. Approval was granted upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The request to retain current Corporation Treasurer, Dr. Chris Kuhn and Deputy Treasurer, Laura Baer with a bond of \$200,000.00, High School Bookkeepers with a bond of \$20,000, and Elementary Bookkeepers with a bond of \$10,000 were approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the current salary of the Board members will be \$2,000.00 with a per diem of \$100.00 per attended regular School Board meeting. The Heartland Career Center Board representative will receive an additional per diem of \$25.00 per meeting attended, not to exceed 12 meetings. The maximum yearly salary per MSDWC Board member cannot exceed \$2,000.00, as according to State standards, was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the mileage rate for all school employees to be the same as the amount in the current teacher master contract (\$.49/mile), was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the continuation of the Board Scholarship was made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried. The Board gives one (\$500.00) scholarship to a Northfield High School Graduating Senior and one (\$500.00) to a Southwood High School Graduating Senior.

The recommendation to appoint the Superintendent of M.S.D. Wabash County, Mike Keaffaber as the Local Education Officer for the ensuing year with authority to file applications for federal funds on behalf of the school corporation, was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the continuation of the *Wabash Plain Dealer* to place legal advertisements, was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to continue participation with WMAP and HCC to facilitate better accountability with the State Board of Accounts and the Department of Education, was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve Kevin Bowman as the School Board Appointment of a non-voting member to the County was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:19 p.m.

	THE REORGANIZATION OF THE METROPOLITAN SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WABASH COUNTY, INDIANA
	KEVIN BOWMAN, PRESIDENT
	MATT DRISCOLL, VICE PRESIDENT
	SCOTT HAUPERT, BOARD MEMBER
	JEFF PORTER, BOARD MEMBER
ATTEST:	
CHRISTIAN ROSEN. SECRETARY	