LEE COUNTY SCHOOL SYSTEM

2024 LEGISLATIVE PRIORITIES

The Lee County Board of Education believes that we foster relationships through diverse, challenging and quality educational experiences that cultivate successful citizens. Through the following 2024 legislative priorities, we as a board call for policies that have a positive and direct impact on the educational experience for students, a positive impact for all Lee County School System employees, as well as support the importance and critical nature of a local public-school system.

ADVANCE LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES FOR STUDENTS

OVERALL COMPENSATION AND TEACHER AND LEADER PIPELINE DEVELOPMENT

SCHOOL AND STUDENT SAFETY

TRANSPORTATION

Expand dual enrollment program to add additional courses to align with critical shortage positions (e.g. education, healthcare, public safety and trade).

Expand funding for facilities to support expansion of Career, Technical and Agricultural Education opportunities for students.

Increase the QBE funding allotment to increase teacher and support staff compensation.

Revise current legislation to include additional flexibility for return-to-work models by lowering the 30-year retirement to a 25-year minimum-eliminating the 1 year waiting period.

Allow return-to work needs/priorities to be established by local school systems rather than RESA needs/priorities.

Incentivize teacher pipeline development strategies and projects.

Revise the QBE allotment to support individual school district safety personnel needs for school resource officers.

Increase funding that enables districts to procure and maintain systems to monitor potential safety threats (e.g. ransomware, vaping, weapons and other threat detection systems).

Review state transportation funding formula and revise to reflect actual costs related to the delivery and maintenance of transportation.

Increase the state's contribution within the bus driver funding formula; and develop a more competitive retirement incentive.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen E.K. Truitt

Board Members

Claire Lang, Chair Jamie McDowell Dr. Trey Newell Donna Ford, Vice Chair Fran Walls