# INDIAN RIVER SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MONDAY, JULY 3, 2023 – 6:00 P.M. INDIAN RIVER HIGH SCHOOL AUDITORIUM

#### **MINUTES**

#### Call to Order

Mrs. Leolga Wright called the Organizational Meeting of the Indian River School District Board of Education to order at 6:00 p.m.

#### Roll Call

Board Members Present: Mr. Scott Collins, Mr. James Fritz, Dr. Donald Hattier, Mr. Gerald Peden, Mrs.

Connie Pryor, Ms. Madeline Moses, Dr. Heather Statler.

Board Member Absent: Ms. Madeline Moses

# Approval of Agenda – July 3, 2023

It was moved by Mr. Collins, seconded by Dr. Hattier, to approve the agenda. The motion passed unanimously (8-0).

## Oath of Office for Board Members

Dr. Jay Owens administered the Oath of Office to the following Board members:

Mr. Ivan Neal – District No. 2 – Four Year Term

Mrs. Leolga Wright – District No. 3 – Four Year Term

# Election of Officers for 2023-24

## President

Superintendent Dr. Jay Owens opened the floor for nominations for the office of president.

It was moved by Dr. Hattier, seconded by Mrs. Pryor, to nominate Mrs. Leolga Wright for the office of president. The motion passed unanimously (9-0).

#### Vice President

President Mrs. Leolga Wright opened the floor for nominations for the office of vice president. It was moved by Dr. Hattier, seconded by Mr. Cathell, to nominate Mr. Jim Fritz for the office of vice president. The motion passed (6-0-3).

For the motion: Mr. Cathell, Mr. Collins, Dr. Hattier, Mr. Neal, Mrs. Pryor, Mrs. Wright.

Abstained: Mr. Fritz, Mr. Peden, Dr. Stater.

## Designate Superintendent as Executive Secretary of the Board

It was moved by Mr. Cathell, seconded by Mr. Collins, to designate the superintendent as Executive Secretary of the Indian River School District Board of Education. The motion passed unanimously (9-0).

#### Resolution

It was moved by Mr. Cathell, seconded by Mrs. Pryor, to approve the resolution authorizing the Chief School Officer of the Indian River School District to open and close bank accounts when approved by the State Treasurer as necessary to conduct the business of the Indian River School District and to authorize designated personnel to sign checks and the official documents of the Indian River School District. The motion passed unanimously (9-0).

#### **Executive Session**

It was moved by Mr. Collins, seconded by Mr. Cathell, to go into Executive Session at 6:11 p.m. for the purpose of discussing personnel and negotiations. The motion passed unanimously (9-0).

Dr. Hattier left the meeting at 6:12 p.m.

Mrs. Troublefield was excused from executive session at 6:12 p.m.

## Reconvene

The regular session of the board reconvened at 6:42 p.m.

# Adjournment

It was moved by Mrs. Pryor, seconded by Mr. Fritz to adjourn the Board Meeting at 6:43 p.m. The motion passed unanimously (9-0).

Respectfully Submitted,

Leolga T. Wright
President
Board of Education
Indian River School District

Jay F. Owens, Jr. Ed.D. Secretary and Superintendent Board of Education Indian River School District

LTW/JFO:jmt