MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE METROPOLITAN SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WABASH COUNTY

A meeting of the Board of Education (the "Board") of the Metropolitan School District of Wabash County, Indiana ("School District"), was held at the Administration Building, 204 N. 300 W., Wabash, IN, on June 13, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. (EST), pursuant to notice duly given to all members in accordance with I.C. 20-26-4-1, I.C. 20-26-4-3, I.C. 5-14-1.5 and the rules of the Board.

MSDWC School Board met in regular session on June 13, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. at the Central Office. We will continue to livestream the meeting on Facebook Live.

Kevin Bowman, President, called the meeting to order. Mike Keaffaber, Superintendent was present. Chris Kuhn, Assistant Superintendent and Tim Drake, Chief Academic Officer were absent. A roll call of members on the Board were shown to be present as follows: Matt Driscoll, Jeff Porter, Scott Haupert, and Christian Rosen. Also present were Josh Petruniw, Dave Nelson, Tonya Boone Brian Ridgeway, Sherry Ridgeway, Brett Evans, Gary Dawson, and Frankie Dawson.

The pledge to the flag was recited.

Future Board meetings are scheduled for July 11, 2023, 6:00 p.m., Regular Meeting, at the Administration Building, July 25, 2023, 6:00 p.m., Regular Meeting, at the Administration Building, and August 8, 2023, 6:00 p.m., Regular Meeting, at the Administration Building.

Public Recognition:

The recommendation to approve the \$200.00 donation from Bible Study Fellowship Class of the Church of Christ at Treaty in memory of Jody Livergood was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Christian Rosen, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the \$431.62 donation from Donors Choose: Individual donors are Danielle Whiteman, Kyle Sparks, Jennifer Nesler, and Sonic Foundation for Mrs. Watkin's project "Growing Young Readers" was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Christian Rosen, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the \$522.00 donation from Donors Choose: Individual donors are Danielle Whiteman, Neil Bever, Shawnte Frieden, Jessica Miller, Jennifer Nesler, General Motors, and Sonic Foundation for Mrs. Cox's project "Light Up Your Learning" was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Christian Rosen, and unanimously carried.

School Recognition:

Tonya Boone, Bridge Director, reported on this year's accomplishments. Bridge served 618 students with 127 graduates thus far. She thanked the Honeywell Center for their efforts in making graduation for 61 students wonderful.

Mrs. Boone took a moment to thank her Bridge staff for the great things they are doing. She recognized the Teacher of the Year, Kara Guiff, as being a great asset. She is always striving to make her teaching the best for the students.

The following Southwood student athletes achieved recognition by the IATCCC (Indiana Association of Track and Cross-Country Coaches) for their efforts in the classroom and on the athletic field: Seniors: Bryn Mealy, Aleia Sweet, Zeb Herring. Junior: Randy Boone. Congratulations to these fine student-athletes for their hard work on the athletic field and in the classroom! Criteria: 1. Juniors and Seniors Only. 2. Varsity athletes on your Sectional (tournament) roster. 3. Minimum GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale. 4. Seniors - minimum SAT of 1200 (Math & Critical Reading or Evidence-Based Reading & Writing only) or ACT composite of 26. 4. Seniors - minimum SAT of 1200 (Math & Critical Reading or Evidence-Based Reading and Writing (only) or ACT composite of 26 Juniors-same as Seniors or minimum PSAT of 1140 (Math and Evidence Based Reading and Writing)

Public Comment: (Agenda Items Only)

No comments were made.

The Regular Meeting Minutes from Tuesday, May 23, 2023, were approved upon a motion made by Matt Driscoll, a second by Scott Haupert, and unanimously carried.

Claims were approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

Payroll was approved upon a motion made by Christian Rosen, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

Dr. Kuhn reviewed the Education Funds and the End of Month for May.

Personnel Recommendations:

The recommendation to approve the employment of Kyle Wynn, Summer Custodian, for all schools, effective June 13, 2023, was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the leave of #161 leave to begin August 7, 2023, for the first 9 weeks. Returning October 9, 2023, was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the retirement of Beth Clock, Teacher, Southwood Jr/Sr High School, effective May 26, 2023; Mark Hewitt, Teacher, White's Jr/Sr High School, effective July 27, 2023, were approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the transfer of Tony Baker from Maintenance Team to Assistant Facility/Maintenance Director, effective July 1, 2023, was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

Heartland Career Center Report:

No report.

Superintendent's Report:

Mr. Keaffaber shared that he was very pleased with all of the graduations held at the Honeywell Center and received many good comments.

Curriculum Report:

Mr. Drake said that summer school is still going on. Then he shared the science curriculum information. He thanked Frankie Dawson for her time reviewing all of the material.

New Business:

The second reading and vote of the Bridge Handbook for 2023-2024 was approved upon a motion made by Matt Driscoll, a second by Scott Haupert, and unanimously carried.

The second reading and vote of the Elementary Handbook for 2023-2024 was approved upon a motion made by Scott Haupert, a second by Christian Rosen, and unanimously carried.

The second reading and vote of the Jr./Sr. High School Handbook for 2023-2024 was approved upon a motion made by Christian Rosen, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the adoption of science books was approved upon a motion by Scott Haupert, a second by Matt Driscoll, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund (ESSER) Six-Month Requirement: Review and Recommendation to approve no changes to the current re-entry plan and supplement was approved upon a motion made by Christian Rosen, a second by Scott Haupert, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve Metro North Chiller replacement bids was approved upon a motion made by Christian Rosen, a second by Scott Haupert, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the NHS/SHS EIFS bid was approved upon a motion made by Matt Driscoll, a second by Scott Haupert, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to salvage food service items was approved upon a motion made by Christian Rosen, a second by Jeff Porter, and unanimously carried.

The recommendation to approve the reappointment of Marsha Jones to the Troyer Memorial Library Board for a term of four years from February 1, 2023, to January 31, 2027, was approved upon a motion made by Matt Driscoll, a second by Scott Haupert, and unanimously carried.

Unfinished Business:

No unfinished business.

Board Policy:

No Board Policies.

Public Comment (All Agenda Items):

No comments.

Items from Board Members:

No items from the Board Members.

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting adjourned at 6:44 p.m.

	THE METROPOLITAN SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WABASH COUNTY, INDIANA
	Kevin Bowman, PRESIDENT
	Matt Driscoll, VICE-PRESIDENT
	Scott Haupert, BOARD MEMBER
	Jeff Porter, BOARD MEMBER
ATTEST:	
Christian Rosen, SECRE	ETARY