The Teachers Hall of Fame is sponsored by the:



Special thanks to:

Max Pickett, Pianist
Jake Geffre, GFPS Theatre Technician
Red River High School Staff
All Season's Garden Center
Caulfield Studios
Border States Trophy
The Grand Forks Foundation for Education
The Alumni Network Advisory Committee
Forx RentAll

The Grand Forks Foundation for Education & Alumni Network Board Members:

John Warcup, President
Dave Adams, Becky Bryan, Brian Harris, Lisa Heher,
Emilia Hodgson, Jay Ingersoll, Yanci Johnson, Joan
Knecht, Dan Richards, Mark Rios, Dr. Joel Schleicher,
Carol Sween, JoAnn Vollrath, Jo-Anne Yearwood,
and Charlie Zick

Alumni Network Advisory Committee:

Dick Soule, Chair Tracy Abentroth, Laurie Bakke, Barry Branvold, Diane Hilde, Emilia Hodgson, Sandy Rios, Ken Sherwood, and Jody Thompson

2016 Teachers Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Kathleen "Tootsie" Gasparini Rita Sanderson Charles F. Zick

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Red River High School Theatre Grand Forks, North Dakota

12:30 PM Music by Max Pickett

1:00 PM Welcome and opening remarks

Mr. John Warcup

Grand Forks Foundation for Education

Introduction of 2016 Inductees

Mr. Dick Soule

Alumni Network Advisory Committee

Ms. Emilia Hodgson

Grand Forks Foundation for Education

Presentation of 2016 Inductees

Mr. Tom Young

Grand Forks Education Association

1:45 PM Closing remarks

2:00 PM Reception in the Commons



Kathleen "Tootsie" Gasparini, Secondary Health Teacher at Valley Junior High, Red River and Central High Schools from 1972 – 2013.

Her colleagues knew Tootsie Gasparini as an enthusiastic and energetic teacher who was always looking for ways to improve the health of her students and the relevance of the health curriculum. She was a

recipient of the North Dakota "Health Teacher of the Year" and a finalist for the state "Teacher of the Year" awards. A former colleague wrote, "I knew she cared about me and was a wonderful confidant and listener." Congratulations to Ms. Gasparini as she is inducted into the Grand Forks Public Schools 2016 Teachers Hall of Fame.



Rita Sanderson, Kindergarten Teacher Roosevelt, Twining, and Elementary Vikina Schools from 1961 - 1996. Rita Sanderson taught Kindergarten at Viking Elementary for 30 years. Morning and afternoon sessions meant twice the of number students through passed her classroom. During those years, she also mentored

many student teachers sent to her from UND. One colleague described Rita as, "Exceptional, organized and knowledgeable. She was always up on the latest trends in early childhood education." Rita was also a candidate for North Dakota Teacher of the Year during her career. Congratulations to Ms. Sanderson as she is inducted into the Grand Forks Public Schools 2016 Teachers Hall of Fame.



Charles F. Zick, Teacher and Associate Principal at Eielson, Franklin, and **Twining Elementary** Schools; and Principal at Agassiz and Kelley **Elementary Schools from** 1964 - 2005. Charles Zick spent the last 19 years of his career as the Principal of J. Nelson Kelly Elementary. One of his teachers used committed, caring, focused and loyal as words

describe him. He added, "Mr. Zick focused his entire career on what was best for students." Another colleague wrote, "He totally supported the teachers who worked in his building. I appreciated his unfailing support." In 2001, Charles received the "Friend of Guidance and Counseling Award" from the NDCA. Congratulations to Mr. Zick as he is inducted into the Grand Forks Public Schools 2016 Teachers Hall of Fame.

