

SCHOOL BOARD RECOGNITIONS

August 2018

For more details about these and other awards, check under "Kudos" at **fcps.net**



Jessica Lin, a second-grader at Rosa Parks Elementary, earned top honors in the Adopt-a-Highway Art Contest sponsored by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet. Her art is displayed in the Transportation Cabinet office building in Frankfort.



The nonprofit International Leadership Network tapped Henry Allen among the 14 students recognized as 2018 Young Achievers. Henry is a sixth-grader at Leestown Middle School.



In the PTA Reflections state-level competition, SCAPA fourth-grader Lily Tay earned an Award of Excellence in film production, and Lafayette senior Kate Myrup received an Award of Excellence in music composition.



Fayette County Public Schools sent three students to the 2018 Governor's School for Entrepreneurs this summer. Congratulations to Paige Hensley of Frederick Douglass High School, and Julia Meadors and Megan Meadors of Henry Clay High School.



A team from Winburn Middle School was runner-up in the junior division of the Global Issues Problem Solving category at the Future Problem Solving Program International's 2018 conference.



A quick-recall team of sixth-graders from Winburn Middle School tied for first place in the Washington, D.C., phase of the 2018 National Academic Championship.



During the 2018 national conference in Atlanta, several FCCLA club members from Beaumont Middle School earned high marks in the Students Taking Action with Recognition contests.



A team from Maxwell Elementary placed first in the live performance and newscast challenge during the STLP State Championships this past spring.



FCPS boasted two winners at the 2018 National Beta Club's junior convention. Edythe J. Hayes Middle School was the national Service Award champion for 2017-18, and Hayes club member Carson Kitts placed first in the Digital Art contest.



Staci Davis, the technology education teacher at Southern Middle School, was named a 2018 Advisor of the Year at the Technology Student Association's national conference.