School Board Recognitions

July 2018

For more details about these and other awards, check under "Kudos" at fcps.net



Representing Kentucky, John Baniak received an Outstanding Affiliate Award in this summer's National History Day competition. Now a rising freshman at Lafayette High School, John completed his research project while attending Winburn Middle School.



Hudson Smith from Athens-Chilesburg Elementary was a runner-up in KET's Young Writers Contest.



The girls' track team from Tates Creek High School was runner-up in the 2018 KHSAA Class 3A State Track and Field Championships.



The board also congratulated several other individual winners and runners-up from the state track-and-field meet.



Several students brought home state-level honors from the PTA Reflections contest, and two girls from Rosa Parks Elementary earned kudos at the national level as well.



Students from across the district earned awards at this spring's Student Technology Leadership Program state competition.



The club from Southern Middle School earned several awards at the Technology Student Association's state and national conferences.



The club from Lexington Traditional Magnet School earned several awards at the Technology Student Association's state conference.



The club from Lafayette High School earned several awards at the Technology Student Association's state conference.



The club from Paul Laurence Dunbar High School earned several awards at the Technology Student Association's state conference.



The club from Tates Creek High School earned several awards at the Technology Student Association's state conference.



This year's FCEA Awards for Teaching Excellence went to Lisa Henry (in walking boot), Wanda Wilson, and Melanie Trowel.



At the Kentucky Education Association's delegate assembly in Louisville, Susan McLaughlin-Jones was named winner of the 2019 KEA Award for Teaching Excellence.



April Deener of Edythe J. Hayes Middle School (in blue stripes) was selected as History Teacher of the Year for Kentucky by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.