<u>Mercersburg Academy</u> <u>Class of 2023 Prizes for Distinguished Academic Performance</u>

Cum Laude Society

Justin An

Ava Anthony

Pere Cäbus Carrera

Grace Carter

Mel Cort

Damien Dowling

Zongqian Alan He

Emma Hobbs

Clare Ip

Dayoung Kim

Margaret Lawler

Colin Lissette

Olatz Marques Saralegui

Catherine Orders

Peter Rice

Finia Steeg

Isabel Su

Ezekiel Wadlington

Matt Wang

Brant Warner

Elizabeth Webb

Masa Yamazaki

Dan Zagorii

Daniel Zhong

Hongyu Jasmine Zhu

English

The Harry F. Smith Prize

Margaret Lawler

The William C. Heilman (1896) Prize

Catherine Orders

The Pratt L. Tobey Prize

Hannah King

The Gordon M. Macartney Prize

Elizabeth Webb and Linley Hill

The Dr. Julius Shamansky Prize

Mel Cort

The John Mountain '31 Prize

Emma Hobbs

The Class of 1980 Poetry Prize

Mel Cort

Fine Arts

The Head of School's Purchase Prize

"Replace" by Dayoung Kim and "Fayette Street" by Holden Walker

The Austin V. McClain '26 Prize in Fine Arts

Holden Walker

The Blue Review Art Prize

Nathan Austin

The Music Director's Prize

Francis Betkowski

The Hamilton Vocal Music Prize

Matt Wang

The Senior Instrumental Music Prize

Matvey Ivanov

The Dance Director's Award

Catherine Orders

The Excellence in Dance Choreography Prize

Kalwa Tembo

The Stony Batter Prize

Damien Dowling

The Technical Theatre Prize

Elizabeth Miller

History and Religion

The Colonel D.F. Wills Economics Prize

Brant Warner (first prize)

Finia Steeg (second prize)

The William Paul Buchanan Prize

Olatz Marques Saralegui (first prize) (others to be announced at underclass awards ceremony)

Languages

The H. Eugene Davis Prize in Spanish

Peter Rice

The Advanced Level Latin Prize

Hongyu Jasmine Zhu

The Advanced Level German Prize

Jiwon Hyung

The Advanced Level Spanish Prize

Grace Carter

The Advanced Level French Prize

Paula Luruena Marquez

Mathematics

The AS: Statistics Prize
Colin Lissette and Mel Cort

The AS: Calculus Prize

Brant Warner

The AS: Calculus III / Multivariable Calculus Prize

Catherine Orders

The Eugene Bershatsky Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Mathematics

Charli McInturff

Science

The Wilmarth I. Jacobs Physics Prize

Brant Warner

The Rollin P. Gilbert Chemistry Prize

Margaret Lawler

The Brent Gift Environmental Science Prize

Catherine Orders

Special Awards

Appointments to the U.S. Air Force Academy, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, and the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis

Matthew Archibald Jinwoo Kim Juan Mora Jackie Scheneman

Margaret Lawler, who will be attending MIT on an ROTC scholarship

The First Honor Person in Senior Class Award

Brant Warner

The Irwin Cohen (1923) Scholar/Athlete Prize

Finia Steeg

The Frank Hoffmeier Scholar/Athlete Prize

Peter Rice

The Darrell Ecker Award

Margaret Lawler

The Leonard Plantz Award

Daniel Adusei-Poku

12-Season Varsity Letterwinners

Hannah King Rachel Hull Margaret Lawler

The Persis F. Ross Award

Brant Warner

The John H. Montgomery Prize

Paula Luruena Marquez

The Class of 2020 Award

Isonah Dlodlo

The Class of 2003 Award

Ezekiel Wadlington

The Community Engagement Award Chuks Ugori

The Yale University Aurelian Prize Daniel Adusei-Poku

The Francis Shunk Downs (1902) Prize Zarreen Sorho

The William C. Fowle Award Elizabeth Miller

The Carol Amorocho '81 Prize Grace Carter

The Mary Jane Berger Prize Peter Rice

The Tim O. Rockwell Award Zareena Sorho

The Head of School's Prize Margaret Lawler