

Agenda Request Form

Meeting Date

May 18, 2023

Agenda Item Number

A-10

Title

Recognition of 2022-23 Regional and State Elementary Science Olympiad Winners

Requested Action

School Board Recognition of 2022-23 Regional and State Elementary Science Olympiad Winners

Summary Explanation and Background

The Cherokee County School District held its annual Regional Elementary Science Olympiad competition on Saturday, March 18, 2023 at River Ridge High School. Approximately 465 students from 27 teams participated in 18 events such as: Barge Building, Crime Busters, Water Rockets and Metric Mastery. Hickory Flat Elementary School took first place in the Regional competition and qualified to compete at the State Elementary Science Olympiad held on May 6, 2023 at Kennesaw State University.

Jayden Lin and Roan Parameswaran from Woodstock Elementary School placed 2nd at the State competition in the Paper Rockets event. Garrett Royal and Abbi Essig from Holly Springs Elementary School STEM Academy placed 3rd at the State competition in the Egg Drop event. Logan Smith and Ryan Murphy from Holly Springs Elementary School STEM Academy placed 3rd at the State competition in the Mystery Architecture event.

The Regional Elementary Science Olympiad competition also included the second annual CCSD Speed Building Competition where over 90 additional teachers and students competed to build a model of the NASA Apollo 11 Lunar Lander. Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy took first place in the competition. Cobb Electric Membership Corporation and Gas South sponsored the regional event.

Priority Area

Student Achievement: Access and Opportunity

Financial Impact

N/A

Exhibits: (List)

List of Elementary Science Olympiad Teams

Source of Additional Information

Dr. Brian V. Hightower	770.479.1871
Dr. Nicole H. Holmes	770.479.1871
Barbara Jacoby	770.479.1871

Office of Superintendent October 1, 2019

2022-23 Cherokee County School District Elementary Science Olympiad Winners

Hickory Flat Elementary School

Coaches: Colton Christian, Michelle Kozak, Chris Phillips, Jenny Juneghani

Team Members

Devin Ayral

Ethan Lawson-Body

Mikayla Lawson-Body

Brieley Darling

Julianna Kennery

Joseph Lenyszn

Ethan Lindsey

Max Losner

Ashley Matthew

Logan McCarthy

Jaxson Montgomery

Ava Murray

Holden Oliver

Graham Plousis

Risa Pratish

Devadarshan Ramprabu

Maddie Ruotolo

Max Silverman

Grayson Swenson

Couper West

2022-23 Cherokee County School District Speed Building Competition Winners

Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy

Coach: Teresa Bailey

Team Members

Brady Banko

Brian McCullough

Patrick Paladines

Lacie Snyder