APPROVED APRIL 27, 2021

Dover-Sherborn Regional School Committee
Dover School Committee
Sherborn School Committee
Union #50 Superintendency Committee
Meeting Minutes January 19, 2021
Virtual Meeting

Present:

Dover School Committee
Brooke Matarese, Chair*
Leslie Leon*
Mark Healey
Colleen Burt
Sara Gutierrez-Dunn
Sherborn School Committee
Megan Page*
Nancy Cordell

Amanda Brown

<u>Dover-Sherborn Regional School</u>

Committee
Maggie Charron
Judi Miller
Lynn Collins
Kate Potter
Michael Jaffe
Anne Hovey

- * Union #50 Member
- ** Union #50 non-voting member
- 1. Call to order The meeting was called to order at 6:31 pm. There was a quorum of the Dover Sherborn Regional School Committee (DSRSC), the Dover School Committee (DSC), the Sherborn School Committee (SSC), and the Union #50 Superintendency Committee. Union #50 Chair Brooke Matarese read the following into the record:
 - This Open Meeting is being conducted remotely consistent with Governor Baker's Executive Order of March 12, 2020.Information on how to join remote School Committee meetings and meeting agendas is posted on the Dover Sherborn District Website.Please note that this meeting is being recorded. Please be aware that anything that you broadcast may be captured by the recording.
 - Community Comments are first. Please remember that community comments are an opportunity for us to listen to members of the community. It is not a forum for answering questions or engaging in a debate and we will not be answering any questions tonight. We respectfully request that you please make your comments brief (about 2 mins) and that you move the discussion forward by adding new information. Once the public comment section of the meeting has been concluded, we will move on to other business and unsolicited comments from the community will no longer be permitted.
- 2. Community Comments There were several comments from parents requesting that the hybrid model be revisited particularly in regards to remote attendance policy to in person classes and remote Wednesdays.

3. Reports

- Assistant Superintendent Update Ms. McCoy updated the Committees on the work of the
 Diversity Task Force which has been renamed DS AIDE Dover Sherborn for AntiRacism, Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity. DS AIDE consists of 42 members divided into six
 subcommittees. An equity audit to assess current status across multiple realms climate,
 policies, practice, and programming is being researched.
- Superintendent Update Dr. Keough addressed each of the following:
 - *Sustainability Task Force the Task Force has 56 members including a large number of students. Areas of focus include energy, waste, water, food, education, and politics. There are several high school students participating including Co-Chair Katherine Whittle.

APPROVED APRIL 27, 2021

- *Reopening and Pool Testing The State recently announced they will offer six weeks of Covid pool testing to school systems. Pool testing (multiple samples are merged into one PCR test, if positive the entire pool gets tested individually to determine who is positive) may provide an added layer of safety but all precautions currently being taken would need to stay in place. Concerns include: additional administrative load on already taxed staff and the timing of testing so as not to cost students who are Covid negative but in a positive test pool in-person classroom learning time. There was a consensus that pool testing should be looked into further as the State makes information available. Dr. Keough then spoke about re-opening and stated that given the current infection rates in Dover and Sherborn he feels it makes the most sense to wait until the staff has been vaccinated and some form of further testing has been implemented before considering any expansion to in person learning. There was a question about continuing the hybrid model given the current level of infection within Dover and Sherborn. Members of the Boards of Health stated that they are watching the situation closely and feel comfortable continuing with the hybrid model because there have been no cases of transmission in school (all close contacts have tested negative).
- *Extension of Family First Coronavirus Relief Act (FFRCA) Coverage recent legislation provides the opportunity to extend existing FFRCA coverage through March 31, 2021. Approval is required by the Regional School Committee. The town of Dover and Sherborn will approve it for the elementary teaching staff.

There were motions to approve the extension of the FFRCA coverage through March 31, 2021.

DSRSC: motion by Judi Miller, second by Kate Potter

Vote in favor: Maggie Charron, Judi Miller, Kate Potter, Anne Hovey, Lynn Collins, and Michael Jaffe

4. Policy: Second Read - there were no changes made to the document after the first read.

There was a suggestion to change some wording to gender neutral language.

There were motions to approve the Updated Restraint Prevention and Behavior Support Policy and Procedures Review as amended.

DSRSC: motion by Lynn Collins, second by Michael Jaffe

Vote in favor: Maggie Charron, Judi Miller, Kate Potter, Anne Hovey, Lynn Collins, and Michael Jaffe

SSC: motion by Nancy Cordell, second by Amanda Brown

Vote in favor: Megan Page, Amanda Brown, and Nancy Cordell

DSC: motion by Mark Healey, second by Colleen Burt

Vote in favor: Brooke Matarese, Mark Healey, Colleen Burt, Leslie Leon, and Sara Gutierrez-Dunn

5. 2021-22 School Year Calendar - a draft calendar for the next school year was presented.

There were motions to approve the 2021-22 School Year Calendar.

DSRSC: motion by Lynn Collins, second by Kate Potter

Vote in favor: Maggie Charron, Judi Miller, Kate Potter, Anne Hovey, Lynn Collins, and Michael Jaffe

SSC: motion by Nancy Cordell, second by Amanda Brown

Vote in favor: Megan Page, Amanda Brown, and Nancy Cordell

DSC: motion by Mark Healey, second by Colleen Burt

Vote in favor: Brooke Matarese, Mark Healey, Colleen Burt, Leslie Leon, and Sara

Gutierrez-Dunn

APPROVED APRIL 27, 2021

6. Superintendent Search Update - the final 3 candidates will be visiting the District this week and next. Links to participate in meetings with the candidates are listed on the school website.

7. Consent Agenda

• December 8, and December 16, 2020 minutes

There were motions to approve the Consent Agenda. DSRSC: motion by Judi Miller, second by Anne Hovey

Vote in favor: Maggie Charron, Judi Miller, Kate Potter, Anne Hovey, Lynn Collins, and

Michael Jaffe

SSC: motion by Nancy Cordell, second by Amanda Brown Vote in favor: Megan Page, Amanda Brown, and Nancy Cordell

DSC: motion by Leslie Leon, second by Colleen Burt

Vote in favor: Brooke Matarese, Mark Healey, Colleen Burt, Leslie Leon, and Sara

Gutierrez-Dunn

8. Adjournment at 8:24 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Amy Davis