

Chris Acker

John R. Wooden Award

woodenaward@laac.net

JOHN R. WOODEN AWARD NAMES 2023 HIGH SCHOOL PLAYERS OF THE YEAR

LOS ANGELES, Calif. (March 29, 2023) – The Los Angeles Athletic Club today announced the fourteen outstanding Southern California high school boys' and girls' basketball players who will be awarded the 2023 John R. Wooden High School Player of the Year Award. The boys' winners are: CIF Los Angeles City Section, Marcus Adams Jr., Narbonne High School (Harbor City); CIF Southern Section Open Division, Jared McCain, Centennial High School (Corona); CIF Southern Section Division I, Brandon Benjamin, Canyon High School (Anaheim); CIF Southern Section Division II, Julien Gomez, La Mirada High School (La Mirada); CIF Southern Section Division III, Tyrone Riley, St. Pius X – St. Matthias Academy (Downey); CIF Southern Section Division IV, Carter Bryant, Sage Hill High School (Newport Beach); CIF Southern Section Division V, Jason Crowe Jr., Lynwood High School (Lynwood).

The girls' winners are: CIF Los Angeles City Section, Marianne Boco, Granada Hills Charter High School (Granada Hills); CIF Southern Section Open Division, Juju Watkins, Sierra Canyon School (Chatsworth); CIF Southern Section Division I, Shea Joko, Orange Lutheran High School (Orange); CIF Southern Section Division II, Audrey Chen, La Salle High School (Pasadena); CIF Southern Section Division III, Ashley Chea, Flintridge Preparatory School (La Canada-Flintridge); CIF Southern Section Division IV, Yalee Schwartz, Shalhevet High School (Los Angeles); CIF Southern Section Division V, Delaney White, Oak Park High School (Oak Park).

About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award Program hosts the most prestigious honors in college basketball recognizing The Wooden Award Most Outstanding Player for men and women, The Wooden Award All America Teams for men and women and the annual selection of the Wooden Award Legend of Coaching recipient. Honorees have proven to their university that they meet or exceed the qualifications of the John R. Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden and the Wooden Award Steering Committee, including making progress towards graduation and maintaining at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA. Previous winners include Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Kevin Durant ('07), Candace Parker ('07; '08), Maya Moore ('09; '11), Chiney Ogwumike ('14), and last year's recipients, Aliyah Boston of South Carolina and Oscar Tshiebwe of Kentucky.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed nearly one million dollars to the universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the Wooden Award All American recipients and has sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with the Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament brings together Special Olympics athletes and Wooden Award All Americans and coaches in attendance. It is hosted at the Los Angeles Athletic Club during the John R. Wooden Award Weekend.

For up-to-date information on the Wooden Award, please go to www.woodenaward.com and follow the Wooden Award on Facebook at www.facebook.com/woodenaward and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram.

###

2023 John R. Wooden Award

High School Players of the Year

Division	Player	School
CIF Los Angeles City Section	Marcus Adams Jr.	Narbonne
CIF Southern Section Open Div.	Jared McCain	Centennial
CIF Southern Section Division I	Brandon Benjamin	Canyon
CIF Southern Section Division II	Julien Gomez	La Mirada
CIF Southern Section Division III	Tyrone Riley	St. Pius – St. Matthias
CIF Southern Section Division IV	Carter Bryant	Sage Hill
CIF Southern Section Division V	Jason Crowe Jr.	Lywnood

Division	Player	School
CIF Los Angeles City Section	Marianne Boco	Granada Hills
CIF Southern Section Open Div.	Juju Watkins	Sierra Canyon
CIF Southern Section Division I	Shea Joko	Orange Lutheran
CIF Southern Section Division II	Audrey Chen	La Salle
CIF Southern Section Division III	Ashley Chea	Flintridge Prep
CIF Southern Section Division IV	Yalee Schwartz	Shalhevet
CIF Southern Section Division V	Delaney White	Oak Park