FORT MYLL SCHOOLS

Children First ... Every Day

Hall of Fame Ceremony

Class Of

2018

"If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants."

~ Isaac Newton

January 22, 2019

5 p.m.

Order of Events

Welcome Dr. Chuck Epps, Superintendent

Hall of Fame History, Guidelines & Introduction of Selection Committee

Mr. Mike Hill, Selection Committee Chairman

Selection Committee:

Dr. Chuck Epps Mr. Mike Hill Mr. Scott Patterson Mr. Rudy Sanders Mayor Guynn Savage Mr. Jeff Updike Mr. Patrick White

Recognition of Honorees

Dr. Chuck Epps, Superintendent Mr. Mike Hill, Selection Committee Chairman Ms. Kristy Spears, School Board Chairwoman

Reception to Follow

About the Fort Mill School District Hall of Fame

The Fort Mill School District Hall of Fame was established in 2016 to honor graduates of Fort Mill School District schools and other persons whose interests and activities – whether professional, vocational or voluntary – have resulted in significant contributions to the betterment of the school district, their communities, their states and/or our nation.

These honorees may have shared an inspiring vision for the education of the district's students, made notable contributions to the district's educational policies or programs, or made a significant contribution to society at large as a consequence of their education in the district's schools.

The achievements of Fort Mill School District Hall of Fame inductees reflect honor on the district. Inductees are persons whose personal qualities reflect the values of good character that the Fort Mill School District seeks to promote in its students: respect, fairness, kindness, cooperation, honesty, dependability, responsibility, good citizenship, caring and self-discipline.



Elliott Littleton Avery

Elliott Littleton Avery came to Fort Mill to be the principal of Old Academy after serving as a lieutenant in World War I. Professor Elliott L. Avery was the first principal of George Fish School from 1925 until his death in 1938.

Professor Avery served as the principal of the Old Academy from 1921 until its closing in 1925 and continued as the principal at the newly constructed George

Fish School for the black community.

Professor Avery was active in the Paradise community. He was dedicated to his duties as both a teacher and principal at George Fish School until his death in 1938. In tribute to his leadership and community service, his remains were interred on the grounds of the school and later moved to a nearby cemetery. In the 1950's, Avery Street in the Paradise community was named in his honor.



Joseph Bonds

Mr. Bonds served as Superintendent of Fort Mill Schools from 1980-1994. His time with the Fort Mill School District brought about new initiatives, including strategic planning, a facilities improvement plan, a systematic teacher evaluation program and differentiated professional learning opportunities for faculty.

He was a leader in technology, with the automation of the media centers and the

integration of instructional technology. He also was instrumental in the implementation of the Reading Recovery Program.

Notably, Mr. Bonds made a point to visit every teacher's classroom every year. He was named Superintendent of the Year by the South Carolina Association of School Administrators in 1993 and given the Lifetime Achievement Award by the South Carolina Association of School Administrators in 1994.



Molly Coggins

Long before "Children First" became the mantra of the Fort Mill School District, Dr. Molly Coggins adopted it as a personal mission.

Dr. Coggins worked in the Fort Mill School District for nearly 30 years. She began her career as a teacher at Fort Mill Elementary, where she also supervised student teachers from Winthrop University and Limestone College.

In 1980, Dr. Coggins became the program coordinator for Learning Experiences and Parenting (the LEAP program) at Fort Mill Primary School, a program that provided support and enrichment for pre-school age students and their parents and prepared them for kindergarten. She later became the director for the LEAP program before taking the position of curriculum coordinator for Fort Mill Primary.

In 1986, Dr. Coggins became the principal of Fort Mill Primary, a role she served in for the next fifteen years. During her career, Dr. Coggins was honored multiple times for her service to our schools. She was twice named the Fort Mill Times' Principal of the Year, Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the Fort Mill School District, and was named one of the "Outstanding Women in South Carolina."



Previous Inductees Class of 2016



A.O. Jones



Francis Murray Mack Sr.



Mac McCallum



Phoebe McCallum



J.H. "Hoss" Nesbit

Class of 2017



Lee Carothers



Anne Springs Close



Jane Langley



Stormy Young



Simon Algah White, Sr.



A special thank you to:

Hall of Fame Establishment Committee
Hall of Fame Selection Committee
Fort Mill History Museum