SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION

School Board Elections are established by the <u>Delaware Code</u>, Title 14, Chapter 10:

- § 1051. Election of school board members; exceptions
- (a) School board members shall be elected by the qualified voters of the respective reorganized school districts, except as may otherwise be provided by § 1061, 1064, 1065 and 1066 of this title.
- (b) No person shall be elected or serve as a school board member who holds a paid position which is subject to the rules and regulations of such school board.
- § 1068. Indian River School Board
- (a) Notwithstanding anything contained in this Chapter to the contrary, the School Board of Indian River School District shall be composed of ten (10) members.
- (b) The Indian River School District is hereby divided into 5 representative districts as follows:
 - (1) District Number 1-Beginning on Route 28 where Fleetwood Pond Branch crosses Route 28, east on Route 28, crossing Route 113 to the Georgetown town limits (1mile circle); right on School Lane following the southern boundary of the Town to South Bedford Street; right and south on South Bedford Street to Route 318; left on Routes 318 and 321 to Route 47; right on Route 47 to Route 30; left and north on Route 30 to Gravel Hill; right at Gravel Hill on Route 18 to Route 5 at Harbeson; left on Route 5 to the presently established boundary between Indian River School District and Cape Henlopen School District; thence following the Indian River School District and Cape Henlopen School District boundary, westerly from Route 5 to the intersection of Routes 238 and 239; thence westerly on Route 238 to the North Fork of Gravelly Branch; thence southwesterly along Gravelly Branch and Collins Pond to Route 18; left on Route 18 to Route 527; right on Route 527 to its intersection with Route 526 and Route 516; thence southeasterly to the intersection of Route 529 and Route 46; easterly along Route 46 for a distance of approximately one tenth mile to a point where Tyndall Branch crosses Route 46; thence following Tyndall Branch, Fleetwood Pond, Fleetwood Pond Branch in a southeasterly direction to the beginning point on Route 28. The last portion of this description being the established boundary line of the Indian River School District and the Milford School District, the Woodbridge School District and Seaford School District.

- (2) District Number 2-Beginning at a point where Fleetwood Pond Branch crosses Route 28; southeasterly along said Branch to a point where it crosses Route 444 approximately seven tenths mile north of Route 20; south on Route 444 to Route 20; left on Route 20 to Jones Crossroads; thence southeasterly in a straight line between Jones Crossroads and Pusey's Crossroads to a point on Route 74 approximately 1.1 mile west of its intersection with Route 20; left on Route 74 to Route 20; right on Route 20 to Route 113 (Bob's Diner) crossing Route 113 to State Street and continuing on State Street easterly to Betts Mill Pond Bridge; thence following this stream and the south bank of the Millsboro Pond to the Mill Dam at Route 24; thence easterly along Route 24 to the Herring Creek Branch; thence following the established boundary between Indian River School District and Cape Henlopen School District westerly and northerly following a portion of the Beaverdam Creek and Route 259 to its intersection with Route 5. The remaining portion of District Number 2 shall be described by the southern boundary of District Number 1.
- (3) District Number 3-Beginning at a point 1.1 mile west of Route 20 on Route 74; thence along the established boundary line between Indian River School District and Laurel School District to Pusey's Crossroads at Route 472; left on Route 472 to a point where the Pocomoke River reaches Route 472; thence southeasterly along the Pocomoke River to Route 424; right on Route 424 to Route 24; left on Route 24 to Route 25; right on Route 25 to Route 26; left on Route 26 to Route 113; right and south for a distance of approximately .5 mile to the southern boundary of the Town of Dagsboro; thence easterly along the town boundary line to Pepper Creek; thence north and east along Pepper Creek to Indian River Bay and Rehoboth Bay to Herring Creek; thence westerly along Herring Creek to Route 24. The remaining northern boundary for District Number 3 shall coincide with the description of the southern boundary of District Number 2.
- (4) District Number 4-Beginning on Route 113 at its intersection with Route 26; south on Route 113 to Frankford; thence following the southern boundaries of Frankford and Vines Creek to the place where Vines Creek crosses Route 54; thence east along Route 54 to Route 382 (Omar); right on Route 382 through Roxana to Route 382A; right on Route 382 to Route 389; right on Route 389 to Route 396; right on Route 396 to the Delaware and Maryland state line. The remaining boundaries of this District are as follows: The southern boundary is the Delaware and Maryland state line; the eastern boundary is the Atlantic Ocean; the northern boundary is the Indian River Bay from Indian River Inlet to Pepper Creek and the southern boundary of the Town of Dagsboro as described as the southern boundary of District Number 3.
- (5) District Number 5-Beginning on Route 413B at its intersection with Route 24; south on Route 413B; thence following the established boundary line between Indian River School District and Delmar School District through Pepper Box and Whitesville to the Delaware-Maryland line; thence easterly along the Delaware-Maryland line to Route 396 at Williamsville; thence northerly to

- Dagsboro following the here described westerly boundary of District Number 4 and westerly through Mission following the southern boundary of District Number 3 herein described.
- (c) Each school board member shall be elected for a term of 4 years, said term to commence on July 1 following the school board member's election, except when such election is to fill an unexpired term, as provided in 14 Del. C. § 1054 until a successor has been elected and duly qualified.
- (d) All members of the Board of Education of Indian River School District shall be elected from the several representative districts in which they reside by the qualified electors of those districts. Each member of the Board of Education shall be a resident of the Indian River School District and of the representative district from which that member is elected. All qualifications to be a member of the Board of Education shall be continuing qualifications and the failure of any member of the Board of Education to have any of the qualifications required by this title during that member's term of office shall create a vacancy in the office.
- (e) All candidates must meet the qualifications for eligibility to be a board member set forth in 14 Del. C. § 209.

Adopted 1/25/88 Revised 3/23/93, 3/26/96, 2/26/08, 9/22/14, 10/24/22 Reviewed 5/10/21