TRUMBULL PUBLIC SCHOOLS TRUMBULL, CONNECTICUT

Regular Meeting – June 8, 2021

THS

Via Audio/Video Conferencing

The Trumbull Board of Education met via video/audio conferencing for a Regular Meeting.

Members present:

- L. Timpanelli, Board Chairman
- T. Gallo, Vice Chairman
- J. Norcel, Board Secretary
- S. Kerr
- M. Petitti
- A. Squiccimarro
- M. Ward

Agenda Item I—Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 7:01 p.m.

Agenda Item II—Preliminary Business

- A. Salute to the Flag The Public Session began with a salute to the Flag.
- B. Recognitions: Dr. Semmel, Mrs. Timpanelli

1. Trumbull Retirements

We honor and celebrate the following staff members and wish them well on their retirement: Daniels Farm Elementary- Carole Kruzick, Janet Conte

Frenchtown Elementary- Susan Gaspar Frenchtown/Middlebrook- Leigh Westberg Jane Ryan Elementary- Margaret Fedell, Susan Salerno, Mary Ellen Bolton

Middlebrook Elementary- Patricia Frillici, Linda Dunn

Tashua Elementary- Lisa Pope

Hillcrest- Thomas Whitmoyer, Valerie Hamann, Robert Mongillo Diana Garra

THS -Kirk Shultz, Norine Marchellos, Bonnie Seferian, Hans Drenkard, Tony Pijar,

Stephanie Piazza

Long Hill- Deborah Semenza

2. CABE Student Awards

We recognize and commend the following CABE Student Leadership Award winners:

THS- Jack Allen, Gabriella Biondi

Hillcrest- James Callaghan, Jiya Malhotra

Madison- Grace Codd, Chase Reynolds

3. Outgoing Student Board Representatives

Board Chair Lucinda Timpanelli spoke on behalf of THS seniors Jack Allen and Gabriella Biondi. She commended them for their contributions to the Board of Education and the community as BOE student representatives throughout the 2020-2021 school year.

C. Correspondence – Mrs. Norcel read the following correspondence: Sue Vasil, Kelly Taraska, Kara Giacobbe, Agnes Matuszkiewicz, Felicia Czumble, Kimberly Petrafesa, Joelle Hallajian, Yuliya and Roman Potryk wrote to the BOE regarding students wearing masks in school and/or i- person BOE meetings. Gloria Manna shared her thoughts on SERC curriculum and the ADL organization.

D. Public Comment

Pat Kelly, Jaimie Molgard, Kristen Sabad, Lisa Hughes, Gordana Thompson and Austin Bussen spoke in support of the wearing of masks to be optional and are asking for the mask mandate to be lifted for students in our schools.

E. Superintendent Report- Dr. Semmel

- Congratulations to Paul Hendrickson for being named Director of CASBO (Connecticut Association of Business Officials) and Frank Squiccimarro for being named the new PTA President.
- Thanks for the support of the PTA Council and for Marylena Kourounis for bringing important topics to my attention.
- We are pleased to report that the end of the year ceremonies will proceed as normal as possible with traditional field days, middle school dances, senior prom, moving forward ceremonies, Eagle Fly Through and the THS graduation as one ceremony.

F. Board Chairman Report- Mrs. Timpanelli

- Thanks to Board members who attended the State playoff games in baseball, softball and volleyball.
- The senior prom was held outside at THS on June 4 and was a huge success.
- The BOE has accepted the State mandate that when we meet in person, we wear masks. In July, we will open the BOE meetings to the public.
- We commend Jack Allen and Gabriella Biondi for their excellent job in reporting at this year's meetings.
- Congratulations to this year's retirees and students who received awards at tonight's meeting and to Frank Squiccimarro for being chosen as the new PTA President.

It was moved (Kerr) and seconded (Norcel) to add to the agenda an update on facilities. Vote: Unanimous in favor.

Agenda Item III—Reports/Action Items

A. Approval Minutes – Regular Meeting with Executive Session May 25, 2021 It was moved (Norcel) and seconded (Gallo) to approve the BOE minutes of the May 25, 2021 meeting as presented. Vote: Unanimous in favor.

B. Personnel – Dr. Semmel

Dr. Semmel presented the following certified resignations:

Janet Conte, music teacher at Daniels Farm Elementary School since August 1995, retiring effective June 30, 2021.

Bonnie Seferian, math teacher at Trumbull High School since August 2005, retiring effective June 30, 2021.

Thomas Whitmoyer, music teacher at Hillcrest Middle School since September 1999, retiring effective June 30, 2021.

It was moved (Gallo) and seconded (Kerr) to accept the three resignations as presented. Vote: all in favor.

C. Reopening Update – Dr. Semmel

Dr. Semmel updated the Board on the reopening plans:

- Please see the 2021-2022 school year calendar that is listed on our website.
- TPS will continue to adhere to the State of Connecticut's mandates regarding Covid restrictions in our schools as we await requirements for the fall of 2021.
- The American Rescue Plan (ARP) will provide TPS with over \$1.7 million of needed funds (over 2 years) to address the impacts of the pandemic on our students. A requirement of ARP is that the district create a "Safe Return to In-Person Learning and Continuity of Services Plan" and provide opportunities for the public to provide input. The reopening committee will review the input and develop a final plan that will be submitted to the State.

D. Finance Committee Report – Mr. Hendrickson

- Operational Review- Mr. Hendrickson updated the Board and detailed several of the 55 completed recommendations and the 11 that are pending.
- End of Year Transfers- The Board discussed the best approach to end of year transfers with the Superintendent and Business Manager.

It was moved (Gallo) and seconded (Norcel) to authorize the Superintendent of Schools to work with the Business Manager in order to close the books as of June 30, 2021 and to expend funds for the fiscal year 2020-2021. No vote was taken.

Facilities Update

Mr. Kerr reported that the Facilities Committee met on May 20, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.to discuss the projected date for the Middlebrook roof project and the details of the State reimbursement. At the committee meeting, Mr. Morello discussed active projects and those that are scheduled this summer.

Adjournment

Board Members gave unanimous consent to adjourn the Public Session at 9:00 p.m.