2022-2023 Honors Chapel Awards

National Merit Semifinalists

Anika Agarwal , Kathryn Barber, Ishan Bhattacharyya , Albert Chen, Eric Cui, Megan Dugery, Alexandra Gobran, Bradley Johnston, Anika Kakarla, Kevin Landaiche, Margaret Lo, Kush Mishra, Noah Rossin, Caroline Sewell, Shawn Wang, Jaden You

College Board National Recognition Program

Emi Enakhimion '24, Saige Forbes '24, Mengistie Hailemariam '23 recognized as College Board National African American Recognition Award winners. Trent Newbold '23 recognized as a College Board National Hispanic Award winner.

The John Plant Scholarship prizes are given in honor of Mr. John Plant, former chair of the Department of Classical Languages. The prizes are awarded to rising students on the basis of competitive examinations in Latin translation and Greek translation.

3rd Form for Latin: Asher Wan 4th Form for Latin: Theo Engelman 5th Form for Latin: Nayan Shankaran 6th Form for Latin: Caroline Sewell

4th Form for Greek: Elle Du Pont 5th Form for Greek: Nayan Shankaran 6th Form for Greek: Cecilia Doherty

The Kenneth R. Balsley Prize for highest scholarship in the rising IV Form/Clarissa Leung

The George T. Davis Prize for highest scholarship in the rising V Form/Brendan Schlitt

The Jarvis Meirs Memorial Prize for excellence in Biology/Pearce Buckley

The Jarvis Meirs Memorial Prize for excellence in Chemistry/Caroline Sewell

The George Brinton Phillips Prize for the highest overall grade in Physics/Albert Chen

The Episcopal Academy Environmental Science Prize is given in honor of recently retired science teacher Leslie Trimble, Hon. who expanded and stewarded the environmental science curriculum in the Upper School. It is awarded to the student with the highest academic achievement in environmental science/Gavin Schmidt

The Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Medal – Gold Medal Award for proficiency in science and mathematics/Albert Chen

The Bryn Mawr College Award in Spanish is presented to the VI Former who has demonstrated the greatest enthusiasm for Spanish and the cultures of Spanish speaking people and who has made the greatest effort to use Spanish in a meaningful way/Noah Rossin

The Bryn Mawr College Award in French is presented to the VI Former who has demonstrated the greatest enthusiasm for French and the cultures of French speaking people and who has made the greatest effort to use French in a meaningful way/Lydia Nawrocki

The Confucius Scholar Award for Academic Excellence in Mandarin is presented to a member of the rising VI Form who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement in Mandarin/**Chelsea Swei**

The Judith M. Diamondstone Prize for the best American History research paper/Ashley Kim

The Paul Thompson Prize for American History/Noah Rossin

The Williams College Alumni Prize for highest scholarship in the rising VI Form/Albert Chen

The Stephen Hopkins Kalbach Prize in memory of the late Creative Writing Chair Stephen Hopkins Kalbach, Class of 1972, will be awarded to that student in the IV, V, or VI Form who presents the best demonstration of literary ability. The candidate may submit: a story; a play; a poem or group of poems not exceeding three in number; or, a creative nonfiction essay to demonstrate his or her superior literary skills and talents/Julia Zhang

The Dartmouth College Book Award – awarded to an outstanding member of the rising VI Form who has demonstrated both intellectual and athletic excellence, have made a positive impact on the life of the school community and excelled in at least one non-academic area; and whose talents reflect a strong spirit of adventure, a compelling sense of honor, and a dedication to community and team/**Clare Collins**

Wellesley Book Award – awarded to that female member of the rising VI Form who has an outstanding academic record and has also made significant extracurricular contributions to her high school and/or her community/Caroline Sewell

The University of Chicago Book Award -awarded to that member of the rising VI Form whose transcript reflects the most challenging coursework offered and an interest in a wide variety of subject areas. This scholar demonstrates intellectual engagement in and out of the classroom, and is known for asking challenging questions and drawing connections across academic disciplines. The faculty identifies this "scholar" as having a "lively mind". Finally, this scholar is a visible member of the student body as a result of his or her contributions and commitment to the high school community or greater community/ Mengistie Hailemariam

The Haverford College Book Prize - awarded to that member of the rising VI Form whose highly distinguished record of scholarship is shaped by deep curiosity and broad intellectual interests, and who wants to make a difference in the world/**Riya Mukherjee**

The Smith College Book Award – recognizes the achievements of an outstanding high school junior who exemplifies the academic achievement, leadership qualities, and concern for others

that characterize the thousands of women who have graduated from Smith College. The award is presented to a student from the top of her class who embodies these qualities and serves as an example of scholarship and community service/Elizabeth Boruff

The Bowdoin College Book Award – awarded to the member of the rising VI Form who demonstrates extraordinary service to the Common Good and an unusual passion for inquiry, discovery, and innovative thinking/Louis Beardell

The Penn Book Award – awarded to that member of the rising VI Form who best exemplifies the qualities and characteristics of Benjamin Franklin - a scholar, innovator and community servant/**Albert Chen**

The Brown University Award – awarded to the member of the rising VI Form who best combines academic excellence with clarity in written and spoken expression/Evelyn Aldridge

The Princeton Club Prize - awarded to the member of the rising VI Form who combines to the highest degree of intellectual promise, academic excellence, exemplary community service, excellent scholarship and outstanding personal character/**Ishan Bhattacharyya**

The Richard S. Cross, Jefferson Scholar Award - awarded to the member of the rising VI Form who, through his or her academic, athletic, and extra-curricular achievement and enthusiasm, best represents the Jeffersonian ideals of scholarship, leadership and citizenship/**Dakin Ebmeyer**

The Yale Club Prize awarded to the member of the rising VI Form who demonstrates outstanding personal character and intellectual promise deemed to be the most worthy by reason of scholarship, character, school spirit, influence and all-around ability/**Maggie Lo**

The Harvard Club Prize is awarded to the member of the rising VI Form who demonstrates excellence in scholarship and achievement in other nonacademic areas deemed to be the most worthy by reason of scholarship, character, school spirit, influence, and all-around ability/**Ashley Kim**

Cum Laude Society Induction

Evelyn Aldridge, Ishan Bhattacharyya, Elizabeth Boruff, Albert Chen, Caden Collins, Megan Dugery, Alexandra Gobran, Anika Kakarla, Maggie Lo, Noah Rossin, Caroline Sewell, Chelsea Swei, Shawn Wang