Waunakee Community School District

BOE-Curriculum Committee

Meeting Minutes

Date: October 1, 2012

Time: 3:30 P.M.

District Administration Center-905 Bethel Circle

BOE Members: Joan Ensign, Julie Waner, Gary Epping

Others in attendance: Randy Guttenberg, Tim Schell, Amy Johnson, Kurt Eley, Mona Jean Harley, Kristin Meyer, Hannah Lusendorf (social work intern), Barb Fassbender, and Ty Jury.

- 1. Call to order-Joan Ensign called the meeting to order at 3:30 pm.
- 2. Public input on agenda items-N/A
- 3. 4K Update-Amy Johnson updated the committee on the success of our 4K program. She shared summary participation data along with the results of the end of year parent survey. All teachers have returned for this year and the parental feedback is positive. 4K will be the curriculum presentation for the October Board meeting.
- 4. Student Services Program Evaluation
 - a. Social Work Self Study-Mona Jean Harley and Kristin Meyer reviewed the social work self-study document. This is only the second social work program evaluation and the first since 1998. They discussed the key questions presented in the self-study and the changing demands for school social work services. Time analysis and alignment of resources with need are key questions. The on site audit will be scheduled for November.
 - b. School Counselors Self Study-Barb Fassbender and Ty Jury reviewed the school counselor self-study document. The three key questions are definition of the school counselor role, communicating the role once more clearly defined, and supporting successful student transitions between levels, for example from elementary to intermediate. The on site audit will be scheduled for December.
- 5. School Report Card Update-Tim Schell walked the committee through the embargoed first release of the new school report cards. DPI may make

slight modifications and the report cards will be publically released later this month. All schools met or exceeded expectations on the report cards.

6. Adjourn-Julie Waner moved and Gary Epping seconded to adjourn. Passed 5:44pm.

cc. Amy Johnson, Kurt Eley, Janet Thomas, Dan Carter, Chris Hetzel, Brian Kersten, Sheila Weihert, Marcy Peters-Felice, Dean Kaminski, Randy Guttenberg, BOE.