NOOKSACK VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT #506 Regular Meeting- Held at NV Middle School

Conference line: 1-669-900-9128 Meeting ID: 814 4484 4415

Passcode: 270337

August 19, 2021

Directors

Steve Jones, Chairman

Cheryl Thornton, Vice Chairman

Mark Olson- Absent Jason Heutink Randy Wright

Visitors

See page 4 for complete list

Matt Galley, Supt./Secretary

Administrators

Cindy Stockwell Kim McGee Kevin DeVere Collin Buckley Megan Vigre

The regular meeting of the Nooksack Valley School Board of Directors was called to order by Chairman, Steve Jones, at 7:00 p.m. on August 19, 2021.

Cheryl Thornton moved and Jason Heutink seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the July 15, 2021, regular meeting. M.C. 4-0

The school board heard from 27 community members regarding various aspects of the school opening requirements and the governor's mask mandate. Community members shared personal stories of their child/children struggling with masks, provided perspectives on the lack of effectiveness of masks, advocated for a mask choice policy, and discussed concerns about further mandates. (A complete list of speakers is included on page 4 of minutes.)

The Board of Directors thanked the audience for their time to bring concerns, questions, and information to their attention. The Board explained the district will continue to make decisions that are in the best interest of the students and community by following our local public health department's directions.

Cheryl Thornton moved and Jason Heutink seconded the motion to approve the hire of:

- a. Amy Josephine Boekenoogen, Para Educator II, High School
- b. David Gebhardt, Director of Facilities and Maintenance, NVSD
- c. Jennifer Pemberton, Para Educator II, High School
- Elise Williams, Para Educator IV, High School Library M.C. 4-0

CALL TO ORDER

MINUTES APPROVED REGULAR MEETING

COMMUNICATIONS

EMPLOYMENT FOR THE **2021-2022 SCHOOL YEAR** APPROVED

August 19, 2021 Minutes Regular Session Page 2

Randy Wright moved and Jason Heutink seconded the motion to accept the temporary leave of:

- TEMPORARY LEAVES FOR THE 2021-2022 SCHOOL YEAR ACCEPTED
- a. Sarah Adkins, Kindergarten Teacher, Everson Elementary
 - i. October 4th, 2021- March 4th, 2022
- b. Megan Kiktavy, 1st Grade Teacher, Nooksack Elementary
 - i. October 7th, 2021- End of February 2022
- c. Anna Malpica, Fifth Grade Teacher, Nooksack Elementary
 - i. September 1st, 2021 November 24th, 2021

M.C. 4-0

Cheryl Thornton moved and Jason Heutink seconded the motion to regretfully accept the resignations of:

RESIGNATIONS ACCEPTED WITH REGRET

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT

- a. Laurel Diacogiannis, Para Educator II, Sumas Elementary
- b. Isaac Parks, Para Educator I- Accompanist/Pianist, NVMS and NVHS M.C. 4-0

Jason Heutink moved and Cheryl Thornton seconded the motion to amend the retirement date of:

RETIREMENT DATE AMMENDED

- a. Chris Steiner, Director of Facilities and Maintenance, Nooksack Valley School District
- i. Retirement date to be amended from August 31, 2021, to September 17th, 2021 M.C. 4-0

No report issued.

Vouchers audited and certified by the auditing officer and those expense reimbursement claims certified as required by law have

VOUCHERS AND
PAYROLL PAYMENT

expense reimbursement claims certified as required by law have been recorded on a listing made available to the Board.

As of the August 19, 2021, the board on a motion by Randy Wright and a second by Cheryl Thornton and an unanimous vote does approve for payment the payroll and those vouchers included in the presented list and further described as follows:

VOUCHERS AND PAYROLL

APPROVED

APPROVED

General Fund Check No.132215–132218; total \$5,240.78; General Fund Check No.132219–132235; total \$351,163.03 General Fund Check No.132254–132296; total \$84,366.95; Capital Projects Fund Check No. 132297-132305; total \$1,768,733.92; Associated Student Body Check No. 132306-132307; total \$1,150.07; General Fund Check No. 132308-132363; total \$146,603.18; M.C. 4-0

There was no items for the Executive Session.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Randy Wright moved and Jason Heutink seconded the motion to approve Administrator VEBA vacation cash out option.
M.C. 4-0

OTHER BUSINESS

August 19, 2021 Minutes Regular Session Page 3	
Meeting adjourned at 9: 29 p.m.	ADJOURNMENT

Superintendent/Secretary

Chairman of the Board

	<u>Attendence</u>					
1	David Spring	40	Sharilyn Peters	79	Laura Meyer	
2	Evan Eidsvik	41	Sierra Schraff Thomas	80	Rachel Hopkins	
3	Ashley Eidsvik	42	Jessica Lohrmeyer	81	Kyle Hopkins	
4	Kim Brandt	43	Laurel Sloane	82	Megan McFee	
5	Matt Neyens	44	Lauren Scheffer	83	Amanda Price	
6	Barb Brown	45	Michael Scheffer	84	Katie Burke	
7	Jan Powell	46	Brian Lange	85	Krista Burke	
8	Malarie Heutink	47	Suzanne Lange	86	Bob Burke	
9	Kristen Nygaard	48	Andrea Bird	87	Stephanie Anderson	
10	Aaron Benner	49	Kai Bird		Speakers	
11	Katherine Austin	50	Mike Spoto	1	David Spring	
12	Sarah Garza	51	Jeannine Spoto	2	Megan Wiseman	
13	David James Tucker	52	Anthony Spoto	3	Chris O'Day	
14	Cori Litorja	53	Drew Spoto	4	Aaron Benner	
15	D. Scheffer	54	Karen Reich	5	Hannah Ordos	
16	Kris Wiseman	55	Jessica Kastner	6	Holly Craig	
17	Stacey Dailey	56	Jeff Segel	7	Trevon Myhre	
18	J. Heindrick	57	Kelly Segel	8	Michael Scheffer	
19	Robert Lancaster	58	Todd Rawls	9	Mike Hughes	
20	Patty Clayton	59	Tammy Rawls	10	Kyle Duque	
21	Britt Lentz	60	Jennifer Dorman	11	Christie Duque	
22	Ella Lentz	61	Andy Dorman	12	Peyton Duque	
23	Katie DeVries	62	Kevin DeVere	13	Dawn Grove	
24	Josh DeVries	63	Kelsey Kornelis	14	Stephanie Kosonen	
25	Brenda Riley	64	Amanda Heeringa	15	Tammy Rawls	
26	Morgan Sowers	65	Ashley Bos	16	Ashlee Davis	
27	Amy Sorensen	66	Brian Foote	17	Makenzie Myhre	
28	Amy Shintaffer	67	Kristin Foote	18	Jacob Williams	
29	Linda Tula	68	Kari Gardner	19	Ashley Butenschoen	
30	Lynzi Stap	69	Dawne Grove	20	Debbie Scheffer	
31	Trevon Myhre	70	Toni Benner	21	Amanda Heeringa	
32	Mackenzie Myhre	71	Linda Heeringa	22	Krista Brisky	
33	Chad Brisky	72	Joyce Perkins	23	Chad Butenschoen	
34	Krista Brisky	73	Robin Beard	24	Kyle Hopkins	
35	Cheryl Van Berkum	74	David Benner	25	Misty Flowers	
36	Tanaya Silves	75	Melissa Simmons	26	Linda Heeringa	
37	Steve Reed	76	Jackie Vanderpol	27	Tyler Bird	
38	Christina Reed	77	Lisa VanMersbergen	28	Laurel Diacogiannis- Letter to Board	
39	Bill Peters	78	Thomas Meyer	29	Kim Brandt- Letter to Board	