

Convocation Academic Awards Sept. 9, 2021

Inducted into the St. George's Cum Laude Society

Sipeng Chen Changyu Han Nayan Lucien Sapers

Top Scholars

Karla Acosta Sofia David Changyu Han Julia Hasseltine Mengxi Lu Kate Pickford Nayan Sapers Elias Skulte-Ouaiss Zi Hang Xia Yejia Yang Qingyang Zhu

<u>Prizes</u>

Highest Scholarship in the Third Form:

Kate Ingram Pickford

Class of 1904 Prize — For the highest scholarship in the Fourth Form

Qingyang Zhu

Highest Scholarship in the Fifth Form:

Nayan Lucien Sapers

Drury Prize — For excellence in art:

Madeline Lee Carlson

Howe Prize — For excellence in graphic arts:

Mengxi Lu

Camera Prize:

William Walker Gooch

Wood Dramatics Prize — For the student whose abilities and efforts have contributed most to the theater at St. George's:

Isabelle Merryman Garnett

Pell Award for United States History:

Alpha Barry

Chinese Prize —Awarded to a student who has demonstrated consistently high performance in the study of Mandarin Chinese and shown a genuine interest in the Chinese language and culture while at St. George's:

Caroline Chase Froio

Rensselaer Prize — Awarded to a member of the Fifth Form for outstanding achievement in mathematics and science:

Sipeng Chen

Robinson Chemistry Prize:

Mengxi Lu

Jacoby Biology Prize:

Nayan Lucien Sapers

Dean Scholarship — In memory of Charles Maitland Dean, Senior Prefect 1968, killed in Laos in 1974. Given by his family and friends, and awarded for the sixth-form year to a boy or girl who has demonstrated a concern for the community, the ability to lead, and a sense of civic responsibility:

Alpha Barry

Conrad Young_Prize — Awarded to a member of the Vth form who has contributed significantly to the school's efforts to become a more diverse, respectful community through scholarship, leadership and character:

Karla Marie Acosta

Tharaly Emmanuelle Joseph

Allen Prize — Awarded to a member of the fourth form who during the year, in the opinion of the faculty, has maintained a high standard in all departments of the life of the school:

Alexander Albert Gaines

Yale Prize — Awarded by the head of school to a rising sixth-former for excellence in scholarship and character:

Julia Thayer Hasseltine

Harvard and Radcliff Clubs of Rhode Island Prize — For the student of the fifth form whom the Head of School and the faculty deem most worthy in scholarship, effort and character:

Nayan Lucien Sapers

Arete Awards

Alexander Gaines

for his work in crafting the powerful SGSE curriculum and Black Excellence email series, transforming notions of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion work and student voice and agency within the school.

Zuriel Jimenez

for her work in crafting the powerful SGSE curriculum and Black Excellence email series, transforming notions of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion work and student voice and agency within the school.

Karla Acosta

for her work in writing, recording, and producing the groundbreaking "Popping the Bubble" podcast giving new insights and understanding to the St. George's student experience.

Tharaly Joseph

for her work in writing, recording, and producing the groundbreaking "Popping the Bubble" podcast giving new insights and understanding to the St. George's student experience.

Min Lee

for her transcendent English 2 Honors essay that far surpassed any writing rubric or grading scale, demonstrating how literature can help us make sense of the world around us.