MINUTES OF THE WORKING SESSION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM AND THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES OF THE AVON COMMUNITY SCHOOL CORPORATION

Held on May 14, 2018

The working session of the Administrative Team and the Board of School Trustees of the Avon Community School Corporation was called to order by the Board President at 5:03 p.m. in the Administration Center Boardroom.

Five Board members were present: Mrs. Pam DeWeese, Mrs. Anne Engelhardt, Mr. John McDavid, Mrs. Cindy Simmons, and Mrs. Kim Woodward. Thirty-one Administrative Team members were present: Dr. Margaret Hoernemann, Superintendent of Schools; Dr. John Atha, Associate Superintendent; Dr. Maryanne McMahon, Assistant Superintendent; Dr. Scott Wyndham, Director of Finance and Operations; Ms. Lise Ann Ebert, Director of Human Resources; Ms. Peg Murphy, Ms. Amy Roberts, Mr. Jason Brames, Mr. Derek Moore, Mr. Matt Shockley, Mr. Jim Ludlow, Mr. Frank Meyer, Mrs. Kellie Rodkey, Mrs. Stephanie Bode, Mrs. Susan Green, Mrs. Ginger Davis, Mr. Dan Chapin, Mrs. Mendy Smith, Mr. Dustin LeMay, Mrs. Michele Frossard, Mrs. Jenny Shayotovich, Mr. Brad Bates, Mr. Kevin Gray, Mrs. Shelley Moyers, Mr. Keary Rininger, Mrs. Nikki Harrison, Mr. Jarrod Gatlin, Mrs. Karie Mize, Mr. Kris Kingery, Mrs. Heather Gorgas, and Ms. Nicole Harris, were also present.

RECOGNITION

Dr. Hoernemann and the Board of School Trustees recognized 2018 Retirees: Jerry Allen, School Bus Driver; Cheryl Burns, Cedar Special Education Assistant; Patricia Carter, AMS North Custodian; Carol Compton, Cedar Custodian; Deborah DeLuca, Hickory Secretary; Natalie Dilger, Hickory School Nurse; Barbara Dolan, AHS Special Education Teacher; Linda Hawkins, River Birch Custodian; Ralph James, Administration Center Custodian; Karen Lasky, Maple Teacher; Dennis LeLoup, AIS East Media Specialist; Vickie Parker, AIS East Custodian; Linda Rinehart, AHS Special Education Assistant; Jaimie Shaul, Sycamore School Nurse; Gwendolyn Wagoner, Sycamore Teacher; and Gregory Young, AHS Teacher, for their years of service to Avon Schools. Dr. Hoernemann shared biographical information on each retiree and Mr. McDavid presented those in attendance with a retirement gift.

Dr. Hoernemann thanked the retirees for their dedication and successes.

CELEBRATING ORIOLES

Representatives of the Avon High School Allegros were commended for their State Championship at the ISSMA State Finals.

Mr. McDavid read a proclamation presented from the Board of School Trustees to the Avon High School Allegros.

Mrs. DeWeese made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Engelhardt, that the Board of School Trustees approve the commendation as presented to the Avon High School Allegros for being awarded 2018 Indiana State School Music Association Unisex Concert Choir State Champion. The motion carried 5-0.

Representatives of the Avon High School Symphony Orchestra were commended for their State Championship at the ISSMA State Finals.

Mr. McDavid read a proclamation presented from the Board of School Trustees to the Avon High School Symphony Orchestra.

Mrs. Woodward made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Simmons, that the Board of School Trustees approve the commendation as presented to the Avon High School Symphony Orchestra for being awarded 2018 Indiana State School Music Association Concert Orchestra State Champion. The motion carried 5-0.

CONSENT AGENDA ITEM

Mrs. DeWeese made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Woodward, that the item on the consent agenda be approved for consideration. The motion carried, 5-0.

CONSENT AGENDA

Mrs. DeWeese made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Simmons, that the Board of School Trustees approve the job descriptions for District Application Specialist and Technology Field Technician; Innovation Center Specialist; and the Personnel Report as presented. The motion carried, 5-0.

NEW BUSINESS

Mrs. Engelhardt made a motion, seconded by Mr. McDavid, that the Board of School Trustees approve the textbook rental and fees as presented for preschool through grade 12. The motion carried, 5-0.

Mrs. Simmons made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Woodward, that the Board of School Trustees approve the Form of Authorizing Resolution as presented. The motion carried, 5-0.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:04 p.m.

| | Board Secretary |
|-----------------|-----------------|
| | |
| Board President | |